The very first Ringo Awards were handed out Saturday night at Baltimore Comic Con. The awards, named after the late artist Mike Wieringo, were selected by a combination of fans, pros and a jury. Fans selected two nominees in a category while a jury, consisting of John Haines, Jamar Nicholes, Chris Powell, Hannah Mean-Shannon and José Villarubia, selected three. The final winners were voted on by comics professionals.

An additional four “Favorite” awards were selected purely by fans.

Looking at the winners, this managed to be a way better list than the Harvey’s have had for a while! The win of the two-page online “Emancipation Day”  by Chad Lambert and Mark McMurry was a bit of an upset over better known nominees, and the Favorite categories how some ballot box stuffing but it’s all kept a bit segregated.

I’m told the ceremonies were a bit shorter than the Harvey banquets, which lasted five hours from the start of cocktail hour to the last slide. David Petersen delivered a key note and Marv Wolfman and Joshua Dysart won the Hero Initiative awards.

Some tweets from the event:

Complete winners below.

Winners of the 2017 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards are:

Fan Favorites:

Favorite Hero: Cash Wayne (Spectrum)
Favorite Villain: Arlo (unOrdinary)
Favorite New Series: Spectrum
Favorite New Talent: InstantMiso

Jury and Fan Winners:

Best Cover Artist: Frank Cho
Best Series: Vision, Marvel Comics
Best Letterer: Todd Klein
Best Colorist: Laura Martin
Best Humor Comic: I Hate Fairyland, Image Comics
Best Original Graphic Novel: March: Book III, Top Shelf Productions
Best Comic Strip or Panel: Bloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick
Best Single Issue or Story: Emancipation Day,
Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Future Quest #1, DC Comics
Best Anthology: Love is Love, DC Comics/IDW Publishing
Best Non-fiction Comic Work: March: Book Three, Top Shelf Productions
Best Presentation in Design: Mike Mignola’s Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects: Artist’s Edition Hardcover, IDW Publishing
Best Webcomic: The Red Hook, Dean Haspiel
Best Inker: Sean Murphy
Best Writer: Tom King
Best Artist or Penciller: Fiona Staples
Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Skottie Young

Hero Initiative Awards:

Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Joshua Dysart
Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Marv Wolfman

Source: Ringo Awards: Comics industry celebrates artists, writers – Baltimore Post-ExaminerBaltimore Post-Examiner

Comments are closed.