The much anticipated television adaptation of Jeff Lemire‘s acclaimed series Sweet Tooth arrives on Netflix in June. The first Sweet Tooth trailer debuted online earlier today.

Originally developed at Hulu, until the streamer opted not to move forward with the project, Netflix announced over a year ago that it had picked up Sweet Tooth as an eight-episode hour-long series.

Written and drawn by Lemire, the Vertigo Comics series Sweet Tooth ran for 40 issues from 2009 until 2013. The series tells the story of Gus (played by Christian Convery), a young orphan who happens to be a human/animal hybrid, attempting to survive—and learn the truth about who and what he is—in a world ravaged by plague. He’s joined in his journey by a man named Jepperd (Nonso Anozie), who reluctantly agrees to look after Gus in his journey.

Last year, Lemire revived of his classic sci-fi Vertigo book with Sweet Tooth: The Return, a six-issue miniseries through DC Comics’s Black Label imprint.

While Lemire has had many of his comics projects optioned for adaptation to the screen, Sweet Tooth will be the first to make it all the way. Legendary Entertainment had previously optioned Lemire and Dean Ormston‘s Black Hammer universe for exploration in both film and television, though Lemire recently revealed that Legendary’s option had expired. Lemire has also penned a pilot script for a TV adaptation of his award-winning graphic novel trilogy Essex County for the CBC.

Check out some images from the first Sweet Tooth trailer below. The full season premieres on June 4th on Netflix

Sweet Tooth trailer Sweet Tooth trailer

Based on the DC comic book by Jeff Lemire, Sweet Tooth will make its global premiere on Netflix on June 4. The eight-episode series, which takes place years after “The Great Crumble” changed everything, centers on a hybrid deer-boy who befriends a wandering loner and together embark on an extraordinary adventure through the dangerous but lush world left behind, in order to find the meaning of home. The cast includes Christian Convery, Nonso Anozie, Adeel Akhtar, Aliza Vellani, Stefania LaVie Owen, Dania Ramirez, Neil Sandilands, Will Forte and James Brolin. Alongside co-showrunners Beth Schwartz and Jim Mickle, Susan Downey, Robert Downey Jr., Amanda Burrell and Linda Moran also serve as executive producers.