Welcome to The Beat’s crowdfunding round-up: a collection of some of our favorite campaigns from the week including one-shots, on-goings, anthologies and everything in-between! This week, we’re checking out the Afro-Futurist, Lovefraftian story Decimation Earth #2, a story of an endearing ghost boy in Ghosts are People Too, and more.

Let’s get started!


Decimation Earth #2: Lovecraftian Afro-futuristic Thriller

decimation earth

Creators: David Rucker (creator/writer), Berry Newkirk (co-writer/editor), Shawn Alleyne (artist)
Goal: $3,500
End date: November 30, 2020
Goodies: Grab a digital version for $5, go physical for $25, or pledge more for prints, back issues and more. 

Past, present, and future collide as one man tries to stop nefarious forces from freeing the Great Old Ones from their watery prison. 

Decimation Earth is back with another issue of Lovecraftian horror, and an Afro-Futurist lens. For those who haven’t checked out the first issue, this series acknowledges the profoundly racist nature of Lovecraft’s work and engages with that to create an anti-racist story featuring a multiracial cast. Narratively, it follows three different time periods including the prehistoric era, a gothic/steampunk era, and a dystopian future, each with its own twist on Eldritch horrors. Catch up with Decimation Earth, and look for it in your mailbox next July.

Become a backer here.

Ghosts Are People Too

ghosts are people too

Creators: Peter Ricq (author)
Goal: $11,409
End date: November 20, 2020
Goodies: Grab a PDF for $8, get a print for $12, or pledge more for hardcover versions, signatures, doodles, and more.

A 42-page illustrated book for fans of Edward Gorey, Tim Burton, and Neil Gaiman.

Halloween may have come and gone, but it’s never too late for spookiness. Ghosts Are People Too follows a young ghost by the name of Ethan Alby as he goes about his very normal life, playing with his very normal toys and living with his very normal family. He talks a bit about what scares him, and how to bridge the gap between the living and the dead – plus, it’s illustrated in the creepy style of Tim Burton. Look for this short read next March. 

Become a backer here.

Crimson Blood: Issue One

crimson blood

Creators: The Last Alley, Licca Kirk (artist), Alex Herndon (writer)
Goal: $3,000
End date: December 1, 2020
Goodies: Grab a digital version for $3, go physical for $6, or pledge higher for original artwork and more.

In a frozen, merciless world, the Trinity stands to bring order upon the Helm. The blood of Crimson runs deep. A journey lies ahead.

The Last Alley, the small, indie publisher behind Welcome to Our Hell, is rebooting its original fantasy series, Crimson Blood. It’s a mature series, taking place in a dark, frigid world called Ara. Home to a variety of sentient species, it’s been subjected to age-long wards fueled by differing ideologies, faiths, and countries. On the art side, you can look forward to a gorgeous watercolor style that’s perfect for this mystical setting. Jump on board now, as this is just the beginning of a planned five-volume series. 

Become a backer here.

Simon Blood Volume 1

simon blood

Creators: Giancarlo (writer/artist) & Flavia Caracuzzo (colorist)
Goal: $1,748
End date: November 23, 2020
Goodies: Grab a PDF for $10, get a physical copy for $21, or pledge higher for posters, illustrations, and more.

Welcome to SIMON BLOOD- Volume 1, the Graphic Novel by Giancarlo & Flavia Caracuzzo.

The first in an epic, all-ages trilogy, Simon Blood is inspired by classic adventures, myths, and even a bit of tech. It takes place on the planet Harsac, which is starkly divided by hemispheres: one with lush nature, and the other dominated by a pair of despots. This first of three volumes is 54-pages, fully colored, and will also include a handful of covers, sketches, and illustrations. It’s ready to go, and is set to deliver in January. 

Become a backer here.

THE FEW AND CURSED: Crows of Mana’Olana TPB

few and the cursed

Creators: Fabiano Neves (artist), Felipe Cagno (writer/editor)
Goal: $12,305
End date: December 8, 2020
Goodies: Grab the PDF for $15, grab a physical version for $30, or pledge more for a hardcover version, mini-prints, and more.

A post-apocalyptic Western. A mysterious Redhead gunslinger. This is the trade collecting all six issues of the acclaimed series!

The Few and Cursed is returning to Kickstarter for a brand-new collected edition, featuring 216 pages of gunslinging and horror. For those who haven’t read the series before, it’s a supernatural post-apocalyptic western that can be described as Buffy meets The Witcher – and water is scarce enough that it’s used as a new form of currency. Specifically, readers follow Red: a survivor who makes a living hunting down monsters, wandering from town to town in search of work. See how her journey begins with this first volume.

Become a backer here.


And don’t forget to check out last week’s projects:

Leave a Reply