Comic-Con International (Comic-Con) has selected six individuals to automatically be inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame for 2022. These inductees include:

  • EC founder/publisher Max Gaines (who devised the first four-color, saddle-stitched newsprint comic in 1933)
  • Writer Mark Gruenwald (legendary Marvel Comics editor)
  • British illustrator Marie Duval (co-creator in 1867 of the British cartoon character “Alley Sloper,” considered the first recurring cartoon character)
  • Cartoonist Rose O’Neill (creator of The Kewpies in 1912)
  • Filipino American artist Alex Niño (DC, Marvel, Warren, Heavy Metal etc.)
  • Artist P. Craig Russell (best known for Elric, his adaptations of opera to graphic novels, and his collaborations with Neil Gaiman, including on The Sandman, Coraline, American Gods, and Norse Mythology).

The judges have also chosen 17 nominees from whom voters will select 4 to be inducted in the Hall of Fame this summer. These nominees are Howard Chaykin, Gerry Conway, Kevin Eastman, Steve Englehart, Moto Hagio, Larry Hama, Jeffrey Catherine Jones, David Mazzucchelli, Jean-Claude Mézières, Grant Morrison, Gaspar Saladino, Jim Shooter, Garry Trudeau, Ron Turner, George Tuska, Mark Waid, and Cat Yronwode.

More information on the nominees can be found on the Eisner Awards website, with bios of the nominees and inductees here.

Voting this year will be online, as usual, but a two-step voting process has been put in place for enhance security. Details below:

The first step is for prospective voters to apply at . After filling out a form, eligible voters will be invited to go to the ballot and cast their votes. Individuals who were approved to vote in 2021 will be sent an invitation to participate and do not need to reregister. Those who are eligible to vote include comic book/graphic novel/webcomic creators (writers, artists, cartoonists, pencillers, inkers, letterers, colorists); comic book/graphic novel publishers and editors; comics historians and educators; graphic novel librarians; and owners and managers of comic book specialty retail stores. The deadline for voting is May 11. New voters must have registered by May 5 in order to be invited to the ballot. Questions about the voting process should be sent to the Eisner Awards administrator, Jackie Estrada at [email protected]

The 2022 Eisner Awards judging panel consists of comics writer/editor Barbara Randall Kesel, author/art historian Kim Munson, writer/editor/journalist Rik Offenberger, librarian Jameson Rohrer, comics journalist/historian Jessica Tseang, and retailer Aaron Trites.

While the annual Eisner Awards were held virtually last year due to the pandemic, the 2022 Eisner Hall of Fame trophies will be presented in a gala awards ceremony to be held during Comic-Con on the evening of July 22, assuming nothing unforeseen occurs that prevents the return of SDCC this summer.