2019’s awards season just got another big moment with the announcement of the 2019 Harvey Awards nominations.

The revamped awards – now presented under the auspices of New York Comic-Con – have a mere six categories but multiple selections in each category make it still a good representation of the year in comics. And they are:

Book of the Year

  • Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home by Nora Krug (Scribner)
  • Berlin by Jason Lutes (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • BTTM FDRS by Ezra Claytan Daniels and Ben Passmore (Fantagraphics)
  • Hey Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)
  • Kid Gloves by Lucy Knisley (First Second)
  • Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)
  • My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
  • On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden (First Second)
  • Upgrade Soul by Ezra Claytan Daniels (Lion Forge)
  • When I Arrived at the Castle by Emily Carroll (Koyama Press)

Digital Book of the Year

Best Children’s or Young Adult Book

  • Hey Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)
  • Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)
  • Mr. Wolf’s Class #2: Mystery Club by Aron Nels Steinke (Scholastic Graphix)
  • New Kid by Jerry Craft (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
  • On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden (First Second)

Best Manga

  • Frankenstein: Junji Ito Story Collection by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
  • Mob Psycho 100 by ONE (Dark Horse Manga)
  • My Hero Academia by Kohei Horikoshi (VIZ Media)
  • Our Dreams at Dusk by Yuhki Kamatani (Seven Seas)
  • Smashed by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
  • Witch Hat Atelier by Kamome Shirahama (Kodansha Comics)

Best European Book

  • Corto Maltese by Hugo Pratt (IDW Publishing)
  • O Josephine by Jason (Fantagraphics)
  • Radiant by Tony Valente (VIZ Media)
  • Red Ultramarine by Manuele Fior, translated by Jamie Richards (Fantagraphics)
  • Waves by Ingrid Chabbert and Carole Maurel (Archaia)

Best Comics Adaptation Award

  • Alita: Battle Angel, by 20th Century Fox, based on Battle Angel Alita (Kodansha USA)
  • Avengers: Endgame by Marvel Studios, based on The Avengers (Marvel Comics)
  • The Boys by Amazon Studios, based on The Boys (Dynamite Entertainment)
  • Captain Marvel by Marvel Studios, based on Captain Marvel (Marvel Comics)
  • Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, by Netflix, based on Chilling Adventures of Sabrina (Archie Comics)
  • Doom Patrol by DC Universe, based on Doom Patrol (DC Comics)
  • Marvel’s Spider-Man by Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
  • The Snagglepuss Chronicles, by Provincetown Tennessee Williams Theater Festival and Die-Cast, based on Exit, Stage Left!: The Snagglepuss Chronicles (DC Comics)
  • Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse by Columbia Pictures and Sony Pictures Animation, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
  • The Umbrella Academy by Netflix, based on The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse Comics)

Strong stuff here. Good picks in all categories that reflect the breadth and diversity of comics at their best.

Winners will be announced October 4 at the Harvey Awards gala, presentged by ReedPOP and New York Comic Con at Hudson Mercantile at 8:30 p.m..

The 2019 Harvey Awards nominations were selected by polling a hand-picked committee of diverse industry professionals who submitted their choices in all categories. The Harvey Awards ballot will be voted on by eligible industry professionals including creators, in-house professionals, librarians, and retailers. Those who were approved for a Professional or an Artist Alley badge for a ReedPOP comic convention from 2016 to 2019 (e.g. New York Comic Con, Emerald City Comic Con, C2E2, Keystone Comic Con) are automatically eligible to cast their ballot, which will be sent to them via email.  

“This year marks the 31st presentation of the Harvey Awards and the third year working with our hosting partners at ReedPOP. We congratulate this year’s nominees, who have produced some of the best projects in the industry over the past year, and we’re looking forward to seeing the results of the voting and honoring the winners at the Harveys at NYCC,” said John Lind, co-chair of the Harvey Awards Steering Committee.

“ReedPOP is thrilled to help honor the life and work of the great Harvey Kurtzman by spotlighting the best of the best within the industry at the Harvey Awards. We’re seeing incredible work come from not just traditional comic publishers but from digital publishers as well by a hugely diverse group of creators across nearly every genre,” said Mike Armstrong, Vice President of ReedPOP. “I wish all of our wonderful nominees the best of luck and look forward to celebrating them at this year’s awards ceremony during New York Comic Con.”

If you are a professional who has not attended a ReedPOP event or received an invitation to vote, you may participate in voting for this year’s Harvey Awards by clicking here.

Voting will conclude on September 10, 2019.

For more information about the 2019 Harvey Awards, please visit harveyawards.com or the Harvey Awards social media pages (Facebook and Twitter).

Comments are closed.