With all of the previous Empyre tie-in announcements, the question remained of whether the X-Men would be taking part or not. The Jonathan Hickman-led relaunch of the line just had their first crossover with the main Marvel U a few weeks ago when X-Men/Fantastic Four #1 released. The alien invasion of Earth is set to touch all corners of the Marvel U, though, and today the publisher announced Empyre: X-Men, a four-issue miniseries bringing Marvel’s merry mutants into the fray with a story helmed by all of the current X-line’s writers.

Empyre: X-Men

The first issue of the series will be written by Hickman and Excalibur writer Tini Howard, with art by Matteo Buffagni and a cover, seen above, by Mike McKone. The second issue of the series will be written by Marauders writer Gerry DugganX-Force and Wolverine scribe Benjamin Percy, and forthcoming X-Factor writer Leah Williams, with art by Lucas Werneck.

The series will find the united Kree/Skrull Empyre encountering what Marvel calls “an army of mutant undead,” and teases the return of the X-Men to Genosha. The island was home to the first mutant nation, which ended in genocide after a sentinel attack killed over 16 million mutants. The event has been referred to numerous times during the current Hickman-led X-Men run as a key moment in the history of mutantkind.

Check out the full announcement text for the series from Marvel below. Empyre: X-Men #1 and 2 are both due out in stores in May.

New York, NY— February 19, 2020 — It’s going to be a battle so monumental that it’ll take the entire writing crew of the X-Men to depict it! The intergalactic visitors coming to Earth in Marvel’s 2020 event will be arriving just in time to face off against an army of mutant undead this May in EMPYRE: X-MEN. Don’t miss the X-Men’s strange return to Genosha in this unpredictable series written by all your favorite current X-Men writers. It all begins in EMPYRE: X-MEN #1 written by Head of X Jonathan Hickman and writer of Excalibur, Tini Howard, and continues in EMPYRE: X-MEN #2 written by Gerry Duggan (Marauders), Benjamin Percy (X-Force, Wolverine), and Leah Williams, writer of the highly anticipated series, X-Factor.