Marvel released a trio of announcements on Friday, with three new series spinning out of Eve L. Ewing‘s previously-announced Outlawed one-shot. Champions will be written by Ewing herself with art by Simone Di Meo, with at least two other teams getting turns in the spotlight in Power Pack, written by Ryan North with art by Nico Leon, and The New Warriors, written by Daniel Kibblesmith with art by Luciano Vecchio.

“I loved working with [editor Sarah Brunstad] on Squirrel Girl, so when she asked if I’d be interested in doing a miniseries with her I said YES – the fact I get to work with the Power Pack is just gravy,” North said.

He added, “It’s also fun doing a limited series – a story with a complete beginning, middle, and end – because it lets you structure the story differently, to build in things that you just can’t do in an ongoing series. For readers who have loved the Power Pack since their introduction in 1984 to those who maybe haven’t even HEARD of them yet, I hope you’ll check them out.” North continued, “They’re a group of four siblings who get superpowers but still keep all the issues you get when you’re in a group of four siblings, people you love and sometimes hate and have known in some cases your entire life. It’s hard! But it’s also a lot of fun, and that’s what we’re hoping to capture in this story, along with an examination of what being a superhero actually means.”

Meanwhile, Kibblesmith told SYFY Wire, “It’s tough out there for a teen hero. Without giving too much away, the New Warriors have chosen a side, and they’re recruiting unaffiliated new New Warriors to come in from the cold and get proper hero training. So we get to see all our old favorite buddies, but also a new team of heroes that we want to feel as modern and immediate as the New Warriors felt in 1990, when they’re literally bursting through old comics on their first cover as if to say, ‘Throw these old comics in the trash where they belong, it is the ’90s now.'”

Power Pack and The New Warriors are both set to debut in April. According to an official press release from Marvel, both series will be five issues in length.

You can check out the solicit info and main cover art for Power Pack, by Ryan Stegman, below, as well as the main cover art for New Warriors, by R.B. Silva. Stay tuned for more!

POWER PACK #1 (of 5)

Power Pack is back! Katie, Julie, Jack and Alex Power have been super-heroing since they were learning to tie their own shoes. It’s been ages since they fought side by side as a family, but a special occasion — and an old grudge — is about to put the gang back together. There’s just one teeny tiny hiccup: a brand–new law restricting underage super heroes! But surely, if the fate of all New York City is at stake, the powers that be will make an exception? Keep your fingers crossed as the Power siblings fight for their right to save the world!

Power Pack Outlawed

New Warriors Outlawed


  1. Let me be the first to say that I’m glad that the New Warriors are back for a 5 isdue series now I hope it comes back as a monthly series with three new members like Kyllian Kell Boddicker aka Wildpride with his druidic elemental magic with the seven tattoos and his oak staff of the druids Midnights Fire aka. Aaron Chord and Joaquin Torres aka Falcon and returning members like Chris Bradley aka Bolt but Fabian said he’s going to change that code name to Kilowatt and Trey Rollins aka Aegis and I forgot another returning member Chris Powell aka Darkhawk.

Comments are closed.