The annual GLAAD media awards, recognizing ” fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and the issues that affect their lives” in the media came out yesterday, and five comics were nominated.

Hawkeye, written by Matt Fraction
Marvel Comics

Lumberjanes, written by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis
BOOM! Studios

Memetic, written by James Tynion IV
BOOM! Studios

Rat Queens, written by Kurtis J. Wiebe
Image Comics

Saga, written by Brian K. Vaughan
Image Comics


As I note every year when I announce these nominees, GLAAD tends to focus on mainstream comics, so none of the great indies addressing these issues made the ist, But you know, this is still a great list. Congrats to the nominees!


  1. Nice to know we live in an age when Boom! and Image are considered “mainstream”!
    Last year, all five nominees were “corporate” comics! (The least corporate? “Husbands”.)

    Same for 2012 and 2013. 2011 had Fogtown being from Vertigo. 2010, meh. 2009: The Alcoholic. 2008 was rather diverse (American Virgin, The Boys, Midnighter, Outsiders, Strangers in Paradise).

    For future reference:

  2. Also:
    Comic Book
    Given to a comic book published by the four mainstream publishers and their subsidiary labels: Dark Horse, DC, Image, and Marvel. At GLAAD’s discretion, a comic book from another publisher may be nominated if the book achieves a level of visibility and impact similar to a mainstream publisher. The comic book may be nominated for an individual issue, a story arc, or a recurring LGBT character. Receives Award: Award is given to the comic book. Writer, artist, and/or editor may accept.

Comments are closed.