White Sand is  a fantasy GN based on Brandon Sanderson’s Cosmere universe. Published by Dynamite and adapted by Rik Hoskin (Mercy Thompson), with art by Julius Gopez (Red Hood and the Outlaws) and colors by Ross Campbell (Pathfinder). We’ve all see a lot of graphic novels based on best selling prose books do well and this one is another solid hit for Dynamite, going to #2 on the NY Times GN bestseller list. It has already sold out of a 15,000 copy first printing and a second is on the way.

“I’m thrilled to see the fan base embrace my stories in a new medium, and am thoroughly pleased with the experience of working with Dynamite, and with Rik, Julius, and Ross,” says Brandon Sanderson.

From the back cover description of the new graphic novel collection: On the planet of Taldain, the legendary Sand Masters harness arcane powers to manipulate sand in spectacular ways. But when they are slaughtered in a sinister conspiracy, the weakest of their number, Kenton, believes himself to be the only survivor. With enemies closing in on all sides, Kenton forges an unlikely partnership with Khriss — a mysterious Darksider who hides secrets of her own.

“The buzz around this project has been building since we first announced it back in 2014. Excitement for this release reached a fever pitch when Brandon himself announced its release date directly to his fans late last year,” says Dynamite CEO and publisher, Nick Barrucci. “Even with impressive preorders and support from both the comic and bookstore markets, the book’s success has already exceeded our expectations. We couldn’t be more pleased with the initial response, and will ensure that retailers and fans alike are not waiting long for their copies with an immediate second printing.”

Since 2005, New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson has written twelve novels for the intertwined Cosmere universe of science fiction and fantasy, including Elantris (2005), Mistborn: The Final Empire (2006), Warbreaker (2009), and The Way of Kings (2010). In addition to Cosmere, he has published the Alcatraz, Infinity Blade, Legion, Reckoners, and Rithmatist series, and wrote three novels to conclude the late Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series.