Awards Deadlines Ahoy: The Eisners and the Ignatzes

A couple of awards season notes.

* Monday March 17 is the deadline for Eisner Award submissions! Don’t drink too much Guinness and forget. Details available here.

* Ignatz Award submissions are open! The deadline is June 7th. And here are the rules:

Submissions are open to all independent creators and publishers; you do not need to be an exhibitor to submit, nor do you need to attend Small Press Expo to win. The nominees are selected by a jury of creators and voted on by attendees and exhibitors of Small Press Expo 2014.

All Ignatz nominees will automatically be sent for preservation in the SPX Collection at the Library of Congress.

Previous winners include Kate Beaton, Michael DeForge, Lisa Hanawalt, Jaime Hernandez, Kevin Huizenga, Jillian Tamaki and Craig Thompson.
Categories are:
• Outstanding Artist
• Outstanding Anthology or Collection
• Outstanding Graphic Novel
• Outstanding Story
• Promising New Talent
• Outstanding Series
• Outstanding Comic
• Outstanding Minicomic
• Outstanding Online Comic
All work will be eligible in all applicable categories.

The submission process is easy. We just need six copies of work published between June 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014 sent to:

SPX Ignatz Awards
c/o Big Planet Comics
4849 Cordell Ave.
Bethesda, MD 20814

Please note this is a different address from last year.

Links to comics eligible for the Outstanding Online Comic category should be emailed to [email protected].

All submissions must be received by June 7, 2014.

#call_to_action h4{padding:0px 5px;}