The 2018 Ringo Awards were presented Saturday night at Baltimore Comic-Con. Named after the late artist Mike Wieringo, The Ringo niominations are selected by a mix of popular and jury votes, while the final winners are selected by the comics ceative community. The re are also five categories voted for entiley by fans – online comics made a strong showing in the winners here.

As is law My Favorite Thing is Monsters won an award.

And the winners are:

Fan Favorites:
Favorite Hero: Mags (Assassin Roommate)
Favorite Villain: Arlo (unOrdinary)
Favorite New Series: I Love Yoo
Favorite New Talent: Quimchee
Favorite Publisher: Line Webtoon

Jury and Fan Winners:
Best Cover Artist: Michael Cho
Best Series: Mister Miracle, DC Comics
Best Letterer: Todd Klein
Best Colorist: Dave Stewart
Best Humor Comic: Batman/Elmer Fudd, DC Comics
Best Original Graphic Novel: My Favorite Thing is Monsters, Fantagraphics
Best Comic Strip or Panel: Sarah’s Scribbles, Andrews McMeel Universal
Best Single Issue or Story: Batman/Elmer Fudd Special, DC Comics
Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Mech Cadet Yu, BOOM! Studios
Best Anthology: Mine! A Celebration of Liberty and Freedom for All Benefiting Planned Parenthood, ComicMix
Best Non-fiction Comic Work: The Best We Could Do, Abrams ComicArts
Best Presentation in Design: Saga, Image Comics
Best Webcomic: 1000, Chuck Brown and Sanford Greene
Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel: DC SuperHero Girls, DC Comics
Best Inker: Mark Morales
Best Writer: Tom King
Best Artist or Penciller: Lee Weeks
Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Joelle Jones

In addition, two awards were presented in conjunction with the Hero Initiative:

Hero Initiative Awards:
Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Marc Andreyko
Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Denny O’Neil

Katie Cook delivered the keynote address for the ceremony, and presented included Christie Blanch and Thom Zahler; David and Julia Petersen; Denys Cowan; Jenny Frison and Ramona Fradon; Rob Stull and Gus Vazquez; Louise Simonson; Jeff Parker and Karl Kesel; and Todd Dezago, Craig Rousseau, Mark Waid, and Matt Wieringo.

Comments are closed.