imrs.jpegThe National Cartoonist Society gave out its big awards, known as the Reubens, over the weekend and editorial cartoonist Ann Telnaes won THE Reuben award, the sort-of lifetime achievement/sort-of cartoonist of the year prize that is considered one of the greatest honors in American cartooning.  Telnaes has been covering our too-funny-to-be-true political scene in depth for the Washington Post. Although long admired for her comics – she won the Pulitzer Prize in 2001– Telnaes has been expanding into animation in recent years with strong results. You can see her WaPo stuff here. 

Lynda Barry won the Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award. Of course she did because she’s simply the best.

Both these winners were reported by Mike Cavna. He also posted a complete list of winners, which includes the suddenly everywhere Ngozi Ukasu for her webcomics OMG  Check, Please!

In other words, the NCS is suddenly is right up to speed, and that’s impressive.

The other winners:

Jay Kennedy Memorial Scholarship: Ruby Xia

Feature Animation: Cory Loftis, Disney’s “Zootopia.”

TV Animation: Chris Savino, Nickelodeon’s “The Loud House.”

Editorial Cartoons: Mike Luckovich, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Newspaper Comic Strip: Steve Kelley and Jeff Parker, “Dustin,” King Features.

Newspaper Panel Feature: Nick Galifianakis, Washington Post News Syndicate, “Nick & Zuzu.”

Newspaper Illustration: David Rowe, Australian Financial Review.

Magazine Illustration: Jon Adams.

Gag Cartoons: Will McPhail, the New Yorker.

Comic Book: Max Sarin and Liz Fleming, “Giant Days.”

Graphic Novel: Rick Geary, “Black Dahlia.”

Online Comics, Short Form: Ruben Bolling, “Donald & John.”

Online Comic, Long Form: Ngozi Ukazu, “OMG Check Please.”

Greeting Cards: Debbie Tomasi.

Advertising Illustration: Luke McGarry.

Book Illustration: Dave Whamond.

PS: I stole this list wholesale from Cavna, and I hope he accepts my apology; my only excuse is that honoring all these great winners as much as possible makes it a forgivable offense.