Meanwhile at other shows:

The Small Press Expo (SPX), the preeminent showcase for the exhibition of independent comics, graphic novels, and alternative political cartoons welcomes back a significant number of former Ignatz award winners as guests for SPX 2011.

The Ignatz Award for Outstanding Achievement in Comics and Cartooning is the first Festival Prize in the US comic book industry. Nominees for the awards are announced in August and are voted on by SPX attendees during the festival. The Ignatz Awards Presentation is open to the public and will be held on Saturday night, September 10 at 9PM.

Former Ignatz winners attending SPX 2011 include:
Craig Thompson
Ignatz for Outstanding Artist and Outstanding GN or Collection, 2004, Blankets

Sarah Glidden
Ignatz for Promising New Talent, 2008, How To Understand Israel in 60 Days or Less

Ken Dahl
Ignatz for Outstanding Story, 2010, Monsters

Mike Dawson
Ignatz for Outstanding Online Comic, 2010, Troop 142

Lisa Hanawalt
Ignatz for Outstanding Comic, 2010, I Want You

Jim Rugg
Ignatz for Outstanding Mini-Comic, 2010, Rambo 3.5

Colleen Frakes
Ignatz for Promising New Talent, 2009, Woman King

Greg Means
Ignatz for Outstanding Anthology or Collection, 2008, Papercutter #7 (editor)

Nate Powell
Ignatz for Outstanding Debut, 2008 Swallow Me Whole

Tom Neely
Ignatz for Promising New Talent, 2007, The Blot (I Will Destroy You)

Alex Robinson
Ignatz for Outstanding Graphic Novel, 2006, Tricked

Carla Speed McNeil
Ignatz for Outstanding Series, 2005, Finder

Dave Roman
Ignatz for Outstanding Debut, 2004, Teen Boat #6: VOTE BOAT

Detailed information about all of our announced guests is available at the SPX web site at Additional guests will be announced on the Website as they are confirmed.