The fourth annual Ringo Awards are officially open for 2020 nominations to both fans and industry professionals. Named after American comics artist Mike Wieringo, the Ringo Awards are broken down into four types.

  • Open + Jury Nominated Awards: For this type, two nominees will be selected through an online, open nomination process, while the other three will be selected by a jury of comics pros. Once those are decided, the comics creative community will vote for winners online. This type is, itself, broken down into a range of categories including Best Cartoonist, Best Series and Best Anthology.
  • Open Nominated and Voted Awards: Open voting decides both nominees and winners entirely in this type. It’s broken down into categories including Favorite Hero, Favorite New Series and Favorite Publisher.
  • The Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: In this type, perennial jurors Matt Wieringo, Todd Dezago, and Mark Waid will work with a professional jury to vote on nominated works.
  • The Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement and Dick Giordano Humanitarian Awards: The Hero Initiative will select these awards.

For full Ringo Awards Rules, head over here. Check out the official description below, and follow this link to make your own nominations. And, if you’re curious, here are last year’s winners.

Nomination voting will close June 25, 2020.

The fourth annual awards will return as part of the fan- and pro-favorite convention, The Baltimore Comic-Con. Top honors will be announced Saturday, October 24, 2020.