The spring round of Xeric Grant winners have been announced and they are:

Margaret Ashford-Trotter — Thunder in the Building #2


Jason Brubaker — reMIND


Jonathon Dalton — Lords of Life and Death


Wei Li — Lotus Root Children


Jed McGowan — Lone Pine


Ansis Purins — Zombre #2: The Magic Forest


Brittney Sabo and Anna Bratton — Francis Sharp in the Grip of the Uncanny! Book 1

A total of $32,761 was awarded for seven comic book projects. The Foundation has awarded in excess of $2,400,000 to comic book creators and nonprofit organizations since its first grant cycle in September 1992. Established by Peter Laird, co-creator of The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, the Northampton, MA based foundation offers financial assistance to self-publishing comic book creators in the US and Canada and to qualified charitable and nonprofit organizations in western Massachusetts.  The next deadline and review dates for comic book grants are September 30, 2010 and November 1, 2010, respectively. The charitable organization grants are decided annually in March and announced separately.

The grant money is applied towards printing of worthy projects. Past winners include everyone from Megan Kelso to Derek Kirk Kim to Nathan Schreiber. Congratulations to the recipients — it’s a varied and talented bunch, very indicative of the wide open range of expression comics are finding in this golden age.


  1. God bless the Xeric.

    it was an old competition between me and my friends to see who had the most the Xeric award winning comics.

  2. MMMM Have to pick up some Egg Nog ice-cream for my son. He got an egg nog shake at a local malt shop today and now he wants to make his own.! thanks for teh fun contest. Pick me!!!