Finally breaking Tom Taylor’s Twitter teases of the last few days, BOOM! Studios has announced the DCeased writer’s next series, Seven Secrets. Artist Daniele Di Nicuolo (Mighty Morphin Power Rangers) joins him to tell a story about seven powerful secrets—words, wonders, weapons, and worse—with the power to change the world.

“For centuries, the Order has trusted in Keepers and Holders to guard the Secrets in seven briefcases against all harm but when their stronghold is attacked and the secrets put in peril, the entire Order must face their greatest fear—an enemy who knows too much and is willing to kill to get what he wants.

Now, the Order’s newest member, Caspar, must discover the truth of the Secrets before the enemy does, or risk losing everything.”

Taylor previously worked with BOOM! on The Deep with artist James Brouwer – and that’s since been adapted into a Netflix show of the same name, which wrapped its third season in March 2019. More recently, he’s been reinventing the Suicide Squad in a way that only he can – in a high-stakes story of deception in which Taylor beautifully characterizes an entire cast before their untimely demise. Here’s what he has to say about Seven Secrets:

“I can’t wait to share one of the most ambitious stories I’ve ever been a part of with every comic reader out there. Daniele’s art will make you fall in love with Caspar and our whole cast of characters,” said Taylor. “What are the Seven Secrets? Why are they so fiercely protected? Join me, Daniele, and BOOM! Studios for a chance to learn what’s been hidden.”

Di Nicuolo, meanwhile, worked on Dark Horse’s Mirror’s Edge before coming to BOOM! Studios for Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: Pink, jumping to IDW on The Infinite Loop Vol. 2, and finally returning to BOOM! for Mighty Morphin Power Rangers’ acclaimed Shattered Grid event.

SEVEN SECRETS is the type of story I always dreamed of working on, and I can’t believe BOOM! Studios is giving me the chance, alongside the incredible Tom Taylor,” said Di Nicuolo. “Characters, emotions and good old action are expertly combined in this tale, and I can’t wait to show what the seven secrets are because I’m sure fans will have as much fun reading it as I’ve had drawing it!”

Seven Secrets #1 will feature a main cover from Di Nicuolo, with variants from Miguel Mercado, Matteo Scalera, InHyuk Lee, and others, who BOOM! has yet to mention. Check out Mercado’s cover below, along with a first look at who’s who. Seven Secrets #1 hits shelves in August of 2020, though the publisher does note that release date is subject to change given COVID-19.

seven secrets

seven secretsseven secrets

seven secrets seven secrets