As we say in our Comics Industry Person of the Year voting results every year: there is no one more beloved in the comics industry than Annie Koyama. And now she is being recognized for her good deeds as the 2022 recipient for the Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award.

Koyama and her Koyama Provides program are in the spotlight for the honor, which will be presented July 22 at the San Diego Comic-Con.

Annie is the founder of Toronto-based Koyama Press, which she ran for over 13 years. Her mandate was to promote and support a wide range of emerging and established artists, publishing comics, graphic novels, art books, and zines. The company was known for its alternative edge and diverse range of titles, from autobiography to photography, from horror to humor. After ceasing the publishing arm of the company, Annie created Koyama Provides, a grant initiative to help artists at all stages of their careers. Since its inception, she has given out approximately 90 grants to artists. By the end of this year, $300,000 will have been given out.

Koyama is truly one of the most giving and respected people in the industry and getting to see her receive an award will definitely be a highlight of the Eisner Award ceremony.

The Clampett award is presented yearly in the name of famed animator Bob Clampett, who created the TV series Beany and Cecil, designed such popular characters as Porky Pig and Tweety Bird, and was created to recognize  people in comics and the popular arts who have worked to help others. The recipient is chosen by the Comic-Con committee. Ruth Clampett, Bob’s daughter, will present the award on Friday, July 22 at the Hilton Bayfront Hotel.

Previous winners of the award present an interesting history of people who have given back to the industry.

  • 2019: Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez and Kyung Jeon-Miranda, La Borinqueña Grants Program
  • 2019: Lisa Wood (Tula Lotay), Thought Bubble Comic Art Festival
  • 2018: Frederick Joseph, Comics4Kids
  • 2017: Marc Andreyko; Joe Ferrara
  • 2016: Matthew Inman (
  • 2015: Bill and Kayre Morrison
  • 2014: Joe Field
  • 2013: Chris Sparks and Team Cul de Sac
  • 2012: Morrie Turner
  • 2011: Patrick McDonnell
  • 2010: Jeannie Schulz
  • 2009: Denis Kitchen
  • 2008: Paul Levitz
  • 2007: Neil Gaiman
  • 2006: Calvin Reid
  • 2005: George Pérez
  • 2004: Mimi Cruz
  • 2003: Alex Ross
  • 2002: Herb Trimpe
  • 2001: Mark Evanier
  • 2000: Peter Laird

1999: Jerry Robinson
1998: Frank Miller
1997: Joe Kubert
1996: Andrew Vachss
1995: Maggie Thompson
1994: Will Eisner
1993: Jack Kirby
1992: Archie Goodwin
1991: The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund
1990: Sergio Aragonés


1989: Phil Yeh
1988: June Foray
1987: Ray Bradbury
1986: Bernie Wrightson and Jim Starlin
1985: Robert A. Heinlein
1984: Forrest J Ackerman