When AfterShock Comics, a new line headed by veteran writer/publisher Joe Pruett (Caliber, Desperado), was announced people might have thought, “OK.” When the line-up of financial backers—including Michael Richter (eBay Facebook), reality TV producer Jon Kramer, Lee Kramer (Endeavor) and SVP Investor Relations Jawad Qureshi — people probably though. “Hm.” When it was announced that Marvel editor Mike Marts was leaving Marvel to join AfterShock as Editor in Chief people definitely sat up and took notice. And now that the initial line-up of writers has been announced, I imagine a few people fell off their chairs.

The initial writers for AfterShock’s planned line of creator-owned periodicals includes heavy hitters Garth Ennis, Jimmy Palmiotti, Amanda Conner, Paul Jenkins, Justin Jordan, Phil Hester, Frank Barbiere and Marguerite Bennett.

In addition, Neil Gaiman will writer the lead story for a new short story anthology that will also include Jim Starlin, Amy Chu and Brian Stelfreeze.

Can you say instant A-list?

“When we launched AfterShock, our mission was to attract the best comic book creators in the business, and we’re beyond excited to develop original projects with these industry leaders,” said AfterShock editor Mike Marts, former executive editor at Marvel Comics. “But it’s only the beginning.” Added Ennis: “AfterShock looks to be making all the right moves. I’m delighted by the arrival of a new home for independent, creator-­owned comics.”

I’m told this is only the tip of the iceberg. AfterShock is definitely going to be making a splash, and will surely be a big topic of conversation as Comic-Con begins.


Comments are closed.