Awarding is on! Slate and CCS have teamed for the seventh year to announce the 2019 nomines for their Cartoonist Studio Prize. 10 print and 10 online comics were selected by Slate’s Dan Kois, the Center for Cartoon Studies fellow Keren Katz and guest judge podcaster Gil Roth. Winners each receive $1000 and will be announced on April 12.
(The judges noted that Jason Lutes’ Berlin and Tillie Walden’s On a Sunbeam were excluded from consideration because of the cartoonist’s close association with CCS.
Image above by Nomi Kane.
And the nominees are:
girl town carolyn nowak

The Cartoonist Studio Prize for Best Print Comic of the Year: 2018 Shortlist

Chlorine Gardens by Keiler Roberts. Koyama Press.
Girl Town by Carolyn Nowak. Top Shelf.
Passing for Human by Liana Finck. Random House.
Poochytown by Jim Woodring. Fantagraphics.
Space Academy 123 by Mickey Zacchilli. Koyama Press.
Tongues No. 2 by Anders Nilsen. No Miracles.
Why Art? by Eleanor Davis. Fantagraphics.
Windowpane by Joe Kessler. Breakdown.
Yellow Negroes and Other Imaginary Creatures by Yvan Alagbé. New York Review Comics.
Young Frances by Hartley Lin. AdHouse.

From “As Before, So Behind”

The Cartoonist Studio Prize for Best Web Comic of the Year: 2018 Shortlist

“As Before, So Behind” by Ted Closson.
“Being an Artist and a Mother” by Lauren Weinstein.
Comics by Tara Booth.
The Girl Who Flew Away by M. Dean.
“Having a Role in Life” by Elísabet Rún, translated by Unnur Bjarnadóttir.
Nancy by Olivia Jaimes.
“Sylvia Plath’s Last Plan” by Summer Pierre.
This Modern World by Tom Tomorrow.
Three Comics by E.A. Bethea.
“A Trip to the Museum With Cartoonist John Porcellino” by Gabrielle Bell.