Announcing the shortlist nominees for the 2024 Cartoonist Studio Prize! The twelfth annual Cartoonist Studio Prize is presented by The Center for Cartoon Studies and The Beat.

Each year, the Cartoonist Studio Prize will be awarded to work that exemplifies excellence in cartooning. The creators of two exceptional comics for this year will be awarded $1,000 each. The winners will be selected by The Beat and The Schulz Library staff at The Center for Cartoon Studies (CCS).

This year, there are thirteen nominees in each the “long-form” category and the “short-form” category.

2024 Cartoonist Studio Prize

Nominees for Best Long-Form Comic

The nominees for Best Long-Form Comic are:

  • Anais Nin: A Sea of Lies by Léonie Bischoff
  • The Chromatic Fantasy by H.A.
  • The Cliff by Manon Debaye
  • Cuckoo by Joe Sparrow
  • Eden II by K. Wroten
  • Eric’s Sister by Kaitlin Chan
  • The Great Beyond by Léa Murawiec
  • The Gull Yettin by Joe Kessler
  • Juliette by Camille Jourdy
  • Monica by Daniel Clowes
  • Prokaryote Season by Leo Fox
  • Roaming by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki
  • Silence, Full Stop: A Memoir by Karina Shor

Nominees for Best Short-Form Comic

The nominees for Best Short-Form Comic are:

  • 10-10 to the Wind by Cole Degenstein
  • Blah Blah Blah #4 by Juliette Collet 
  • Bottoms Up by Barbara Benas
  • Business Insider by Grayson Bear
  • Don’t Look Into the Abyss by Bryn Ziegler
  • Hares on the Mountain by Lee Dean & Salvador Aguilera
  • If the Body Keeps the Score, Does That Mean I’m Winning? by Arantza Peña Popo
  • Instagram comics of Ellen O’Grady
  • Light Through Memory by Jean Wei
  • Peepee Poopoo #80085 by Caroline Cash
  • Tunnel Vision by Audra Stang
  • What Can You Bring to the Table by Kelly Wang
  • When Death Comes, I Will Follow by Val Wise

Cartoonist Studio Prize Award 2024

The winners of the 2024 Cartoonist Studio Prize will be announced soon. In the meantime, you can check out the winners of the 2023 Cartoonist Studio Prize.

What do you think of the nominees? Do you have any favorites who you are hoping to see take home the 2023 award? The Beat wants to hear from you! Let us know, either by leaving a comment here below the article or giving us a shout-out on social media!


  1. Ellen O’Grady’s work has been incredibly important, timely and inspirational for many of us involved in activism right now!

Comments are closed.