The nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award have just been announced, and it’s an international affair, with five countries represented.

The 2018 nominees are:


Sean Rubin, writer/artist of Bolivar (Archaia/BOOM!)



Hamish Steele, writer/artist of Pantheon (Nobrow)


Pablo Tunica, artist of TMNT Universe (IDW)


Nina Vakeuva, writer/artist of Hi-Fi Fight Club/Heavy Vinyl (BOOM!)


Campbell Whyte, writer/artist of Home Time (Top Shelf)


Rubin is American, Steele hails from London, Tunica is Argentinian, Vakeuva lives in Moscow, and Whyte is Australian.

The Manning Award is given ou as a “promising young artist” award. Previous winners include Jan Duursema, Steve Rude, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Eric Shanower, Dan Brereton, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, David Petersen, Cathy Malkasian, Eleanor Davis, Tyler Crook, Dan Mora, and Greg Smallwood, with the first winner being Dave Stevens. So a pretty good track record there.

Nominees are selected by a panel consisting of board and committee members of Comic-Con International and a San Diego comics retaile