February 1992 saw the release of Tori Amos‘s debut solo album, Little Earthquakes. Now, thirty years later, Z2 Comics has announced a graphic novel adaptation of the seminal album, with 24 stories based on a combination of the album’s 12 main tracks and 12 B-sides. Billed as “a long-overdue spiritual sequel” to the previous Amos graphic novel, 2008’s Comic Book Tattoo, the list of contributors to Little Earthquakes: The Graphic Album includes Neil GaimanBilquis EvelyMargaret AtwoodColleen Doran, Leah Moore, and David Mack, who contributes the main cover for the book. The book is set for release in September 2022.

Here’s how Z2 describes Little Earthquakes: The Graphic Album:

Released in 1992, Amos’ debut album Little Earthquakes established her iconic thematic voice, as well as her live intensity behind the keys with unflinching lyrics and songs that would inspire generations of artists and musicians. Thirty years later, Z2 will publish a graphic novel that demonstrates the lasting influence of this defining work with 24 stories inspired by the 12 songs on the album, as well as the 12 ‘B-sides’ that accompanied the album and its associated singles. The book will be assembled by Z2 editor Rantz Hoseley, who previously edited the multi-award-winning Comic Book Tattoo, and who painted the cover for her recent Christmastide EP.

As with all Z2 Comics releases, Little Earthquakes will be available in multiple editions. The standard edition is an 8″ by 8″ hardcover, while the limited deluxe and platinum editions will present the book as a 12″ by 12″ hardcover. The deluxe edition, limited to 1,450 copies, comes in a slipcase and features the book, a vinyl reissue of the album, and a never-before-available vinyl release of the dozen B-sides on a picture disc, plus prints by Mack, Jason Levesque, and KAKO. The platinum edition, limited to 500 copies, includes a signed and numbered edition of the hardcover with an embossed cover, all the extras of the deluxe edition, plus a sketchbook/diary, presumably of material by Amos, all contained in “a die-cut clamshell collectors box that echoes the wooden crate that is synonymous with the cover of this album.” Z2 notes that the vinyl release of the B-sides will not receive a second printing once it sells out.

In a statement announcing the graphic novel, Amos and editor Rantz Hoseley expressed their enthusiasm at bringing Little Earthquakes to comics:

Tori Amos says “To have some of the most creative graphic artists interpret the songs from Little Earthquakes, is a true honor. I enjoyed working with Rantz on Comic Book Tattoo so much that when he contacted me about putting something together for the 30th Anniversary, I had no hesitation. Artwork is such an important part of my musical world and to see these songs come to life in graphic form is such a joy.”
Editor Rantz Hoseley states “Having been present during the writing of many of these songs, I can tell you they are inextricably bound to comics. They were on the early demo cassette that I snuck to Neil Gaiman at the San Diego Comic Con in 1991, telling him ‘this is my friend, she sings about you, please don’t sue her.’ It’s been too long since Comic Book Tattoo, and it’s truly a pleasure to get to make comics with Tori again.”

Check out the print artwork by Levesque and KAKO, as well as a design mockup of the B-sides picture disc, below. Little Earthquakes: The Graphic Album will arrive in stores and online in September 2022.