The National Cartoonists Society announced the 2018 Reuben Award winners at a gala dinner Saturday, May 19 during NCS Fest. Stephan Pastis took home honors for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year.
Pastis is the creator of the syndicated comic strip “Pearls Before Swine” and author of the popular children’s book series, TIMMY FAILURE. Pastis practiced law in Northern California before he turned to cartooning in 2001. He had previously earned Best Newspaper Comic Strip honors from The Nationals Cartoonists Society in 2003 and 2006.
The divisional 2018 Reuben Award winners include:
Comic Book: Greg Smallwood, VAMPIRONICA
Graphic Novel: Peter Kuoer, KAFKAESQUE
Book Illustration: Rafael Lopez, THE DAY YOU BEGIN
Newspper & Magazine Illustration: Tom Bunk
Newspaper Comic Strip: Will Henry
Newspaper Panel: Dave Blazek, “Loose Parts”
Gag Cartoons: Joe Dator
Greeting Card: Maria Scrivan
Editorial Cartoon: Rob Rogers
Advertising & Product Illustration: James Lyle
Variety Entertainment: Dave Klug
Online Comics — Long Form: Yuko Ota and Ananth Hirsh, “Barbarous”
Online Comics — Short Form: Dorothy Gambrell, “Cat and Girl”
Animation — Feature: Justin K Thompson, Spider-man: Into the Spiderverse
Animation — TV: Chris Mitchell and Keiko Murayama, The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle
Congratulations to all 2018 Reuben Award winners!