Yes, we know that there is only one Reuben Award, the big one, but for the sake of a headline, here are the NCS divisional nominees.

This is the first time the NCS Awards have recognized webcomics, a welcome and inevitable move towards modernization. The choices—The Oatmeal, Penny Arcade, and Scenes from a Multiverse(above)—aren’t too groundbreaking but they are all good strips.

The winners will be announced Memorial Day weekend at the annual NCS meeting, to be held this year in Las Vegas.

Television Animation

Ben Bocquelet and Antoine Perez Production Design on The Wonderful World of Gumball Cartoon Network
Penn Ward Character Design on Adventure Time Cartoon Network
Erik Wiese Production Design on The Mighty B Nickelodeon

Feature Animation

Mark McCreery, character design: Rango
Carlos Saldanha, Director: Rio
Jennifer YuhNelson, Director: Kung Fu Panda: The Kaboom of Doom

Newspaper Illustration

Glen LeLievre
Michael McParlane
Bob Rich

Gag Cartoons

Mathew Diffee
Zach Kanin
Barbara Smaller

Greeting Cards

Dave Klug
Glenn McCoy
Rick Stromoski

Newspaper Comic Strips

Glenn McCoy The Duplex
Jeff Parker Dustin
Mike Peters Mother Goose and Grimm

Newspaper Panel Cartoons

Mark Parisi Off the Mark
Stephanie Piro Smile
Wiley Miller Non Sequitur

Magazine Feature/Magazine Illustration

Victor Juhasz
Bruce McCall
Edward Sorel

Book Illustration

Barbara Lehman The Secret Box
Mark Pett The Girl Who Never Made Mistakes
John Rocco Blackout

Editorial Cartoons

Lisa Benson
Mike Lester
Mike Ramirez

Advertising Illustration

Nick Galifianakis
Kevin Kallauger (KAL)
Tom Stiglich

Comic Books

Darwyn Cooke “Betty Saves the Day” Rocketeer Adventures #2
Duncan Fegredo Hellboy: The Fury
J.H. Williams Batwoman

Graphic Novels

Chester Brown Paying For It
Rick Geary The Lives of Sacco and Vanzetti
Ben Katchor The Cardboard Valise

Online Comic Strips

Matthew Inman The Oatmeal
Mike Krahulik and Jerry Holkins Penny Arcade
Jon Rosenberg Scenes from a Multiverse



  1. “The above honorees join the previously announced nominees for The Reuben Award for “Cartoonist of the Year”:

    Brian Crane
    Stephan Pastis
    Tom Richmond”

    The info on the cover seen above:

    Brochure designed by John Kovaleski.

Comments are closed.