Launched last year in a problematic December 7-9 time slot, the New York Anime Festival later announced a move to September 12–14, where it would have less competition from Christmas. However, it has just announced a presumably final move to September 26-28, due to scheduling concerns at the Javits Center. While this is further from Otakon (held August 8-10 in Baltimore) it is now smack dab against the Baltimore Comic-Con, also held in Baltimore. That show has little manga presence, however, so the crossover audience is limited. Several companies and artists exhibited at both shows last year, however, so a choice will be made. PR follows:

The New York Anime Festival (NYAF) today announced new dates for its 2008 show — September 26th through the 28th at the Jacob Javits Center in New York City. The New York Anime Festival, a Japanese pop culture convention from the creators of the New York Comic Con, held its first event on December 7-9, 2007. The 2007 New York Anime Festival featured guests including Kobun Shizuno (Co-Director of Evangelion 1.0: You Are (Not) Alone), Peter Fernandez (The Voice of Speed Racer), and J-Pop band UNICORN TABLE and over 100 exhibitors including ADV Films, Bandai Entertainment, Del Rey Manga, FUNimation, and TOKYOPOP.

NYAF previously announced 2008 dates of September 12-14, but it has moved back to later in the month after further discussions with the Jacob Javits Center.

“The New York Anime Festival apologizes over any confusion with our 2008 dates,” Show Manager Lance Fensterman said. “The Jacob Javits Center is always in demand, and getting any dates in the building is difficult. Our new dates are the result of further discussion with the convention center, and we’re staying put right here. We’ll see you all September 26th!”

The New York Anime Festival’s parent show, the New York Comic Con, will take place April 18-20 at the Jacob Javits Center. New York Comic Con will play host to Guest of Honor T.M.Revolution, anime guests Justin Cook, Rachael Lillis, Jamie McGonnigal, Sean Schemmel, Mike Sinterniklaas, Veronica Taylor, Tom Wayland, Sean Michael Wilson, Steve Yun, and Tommy Yune, and premieres including CODE GEASS, Emma, Amuri in Star Ocean, Lucky Star, and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. Tickets are available now at