The second annual Masie Kukoc A hitherto unknown (aka “new”) award for mini-comics will be handed out at this years Stumptown ComicsFest:

The Maisie Kukoc Award for Comics Inspiration rewards a self-publisher of small-press, hand-made comics (sometimes called “mini-comics”), on the basis of merit and financial need.

The 2007 Kukoc will be awarded at Guapo Comics and Books on the evening of Friday, September 28, 2007, to coincide with the Stumptown Comics Fest in Portland, OR, and will include a cash prize of $350.

The nominees for 2007 are:

* Andy Hartzell Fox Bunny Funny, Yip the Wonder Dog
* Damien Jay Pocket Party, The Tinderbox
* Minty Lewis P.S. Comics #3
* Geoff Vasile Trackrabbit #3
* Matt Wiegle Seven More Days of Not Getting Eaten

Voting closes at midnight P.S.T. on Thursday, September 27th, 2007.

Nominees were chosen by a distinguished panel of twenty-three cartoonists, educators, journalists, publishers, and retailers. Eligible comics had to be published between Septembers 2006-2007, and at least partially hand-made by the cartoonist. Ballots were sent electronically to readers of small-press, handmade comics. Email [email protected] if you want to be sent a ballot.

Prize money for 2007 was generously donated by The Center for Cartoon Studies, Krayons Ego, Derik Badman, Anonymous, and Sparkplug Comic Books. The award is coordinated by Jesse Reklaw.