BadgecollageSPX news is heating up and we can’t wait! The Ignatz Award Nominees have just been announced, and for added bonus, above are David Heatley’s illustrations for the badges.

Outstanding Artist
Vanessa Davis, Papercutter #4 (Tugboat Press), Kramers Ergot #6 (Buenaventura Press)
John Hankiewicz, Asthma (Sparkplug Comic Books)
Jaime Hernandez, Love & Rockets (Fantagraphics Books)
Rutu Modan, Exit Wounds (Drawn & Quarterly)
Ted Stearn, Fuzz & Pluck in Splitsville #4 (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Curses by Kevin Huizenga (Drawn & Quarterly)
Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 by Gabrielle Bell, Martin Cendrera, and Dan Zettwoch (Drawn & Quarterly)
King-Cat Classix by John Porcellino (Drawn & Quarterly)
Misery Loves Comedy by Ivan Brunetti (Fantagraphics Books)
Moomin Book One by Tove Jansson (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
Aya by Marguerite Abouet and Clement Oubrerie (Drawn & Quarterly)
Bookhunter by Jason Shiga (Sparkplug Comic Books)
Don’t Go Where I Can’t Follow by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
Exit Wounds by Rutu Modan (Drawn & Quarterly)
House by Josh Simmons (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Story
Delphine #1-2 by Richard Sala (Fantagraphics Books/Coconico Press)
Don’t Go Where I Can’t Follow by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
The End #1 by Anders Nilsen (Fantagraphics Books/Coconico Press)
“Martha Gregory” by John Hankiewicz, Asthma (Sparkplug Comic Books)
“Untitled” by Gabrielle Bell, Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 (Drawn & Quarterly)

Promising New Talent
Gabrielle Bell, Lucky, Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 (Drawn & Quarterly)
Scott Campbell, Flight Vol. 4 (Ballantine Books), Hickee vol. 3 #3 (Alternative Comics)
Lilli Carre, You Ain’t No Dancer Vol. 2 (New Reliable Press)
Brandon Graham, King City (TokyoPop)
Tom Neely, The Blot (I Will Destroy You)

Outstanding Series
Atlas by Dylan Horrocks (Drawn & Quarterly)
Delphine by Richard Sala (Fantagraphics Books/Coconico Press)
Dungeon by Lewis Trondheim, Joann Sfar, and various (NBM)
Love & Rockets by Los Bros Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
Mourning Star by Kazimir Strzepek (Bodega Distribution)

Outstanding Comic
Doctor Id by Adam McGovern and Paolo Leandri (Indie Ink Studios)
Fuzz & Pluck in Splitsville #4 by Ted Stearn (Fantagraphics Books)
Love & Rockets vol. 2 #18 by Los Bros Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
Monster Parade #1 by Ben Catmull (Fantagraphics Books)
Optic Nerve #11 by Adrian Tomine (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Mini-Comic
Burning Building Comix by Jeff Zwirek
The Monkey and the Crab by Shawn Cheng and Sara Edward-Corbett
Noose by Mark Burrier
P.S. Comics #3 by Minty Lewis
Seven More Days of Not Getting Eaten by Matt Wiegle

Outstanding Online Comic
Achewood by Chris Onstad
Grace by Kris Dresen
Persimmon Cup by Nick Bertozzi
Thingpart by Joe Sayers
Wondermark by David Malki

Ignatz 2007 Jury Panel
• Sara Edward-Corbett
• Paul Hornschemeier
• Steve MacIsaac
• Jesse Reklaw
• Zack Soto

Over at The Comics Reporter, Awards Admin Greg McElhatton explains the voting proves vis-a-vis nominating yourself:

In answer to your question — after the 1999 Ignatz Awards, the rules were changed to explicitly state that jurors are not allowed to nominate their own work.

However, one of the reasons why the jurors’s names aren’t revealed until the ballot is released is that each juror is unaware of who the other four members are. All submissions, correspondence, and voting goes through the Ignatz Awards Coordinator (in this case, me). This way, creators can serve on the Ignatz Jury without suddenly becoming ineligible for the award that year; no one else on the jury knows they’re a member. That procedure has been in place since Ed Brubaker and Chris Oarr created the awards back in 1997.

So, in short, Sara Edward-Corbett’s nomination was based entirely on her talent and had nothing improper connected to it in any way, shape, or form. Her placement on the ballot is because of other jurors who didn’t know she was serving.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask!