Speaking of literary awards, the LA Times Book Awards announced their finalists yesterday and the new graphic novel category yielded the following honorees:

  • Adam Hines, Duncan the Wonder Dog: Show One (Adhouse Books)
  • Dash Shaw, Bodyworld (Pantheon)
  • Karl Stevens, The Lodger (KSA Publishing)
  • C. Tyler, You’ll Never Know, Book Two: Collateral Damage (Fantagraphics)
  • Jim Woodring, Weathercraft (Fantagraphics)
  • Judges in the category were critic Douglas Wolk, novelist (and sometime graphic novelist) Joel Rose and novelist Ed Park.

    Winners will be announced April 29th as part of the LA Times Festival of Books.