The winners of the sixth annual Cartoonist Studio Prize (presented by Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies) have been announced.

Keren Katz won in the print category for The Academic Hour (Secret Acres),an unsettling tale of an unusual school drawn in Katz’ wispy, evocative art.


Michael DeForge was the winner in the Web category for Leaving Richard’s Valley, an immense and powerful work which DeForge recently stated was a parable about the Toronto real estate scene. It’s amazing.

Winners were chosen by Slate’sJacob Brogan, the faculty and students at the Center for Cartoon Studies (represented by Kevin Czap), and this year’s guest judge Andrew Farago of San Francisco’s Cartoon Art Museum. Winenrs receive a $1000 cash prize.