Arctic crime thriller Blow Away hits shelves in April, and The Beat has an exclusive first look at the first issue. Written by Zac Thompson, drawn by Nicola Izzo, colored by Francesco Segala and Gloria Martinelli, and lettered by DC HopkinsBlow Away follows a wildlife videographer whose life changes forever when she sees something truly horrifying.

While on the frigid, remote Baffin Island, Brynne Brautigan sees a heated argument between two climbers that seemingly ends in murder. Suddenly, Brynne is compelled to uncover the truth of what happened, which leads her down a surprising path in an intense and deadly winter storm.

Check out a preview from Blow Away #1 below.

Blow Away interior art page 1
(BOOM! Studios)
Blow Away interior art page 2
(BOOM! Studios)
Blow Away interior art page 3
(BOOM! Studios)
Blow Away interior art page 4
(BOOM! Studios)

Blow Away #1 will featured covers by Annie WuTyler Boss, and Tula Lotay and Dee Cunniffe, seen below.

Blow Away #1 Cover A by Annie Wu (BOOM! Studios Blow Away #1 Cover C by Tula Lotay and Dee Cunniffe (BOOM! Studios

“Ever since I first watched Francis Ford Coppola’s The Conversation, I’ve dreamt of telling a paranoid thriller storyBlow Away is that dream made manifest through an incredible collaboration with Nicola,” said Thompson in the series announcement. “We’ve crafted a neo-noir mystery about obsession and the slippery and subjective nature of the truth. Really, it’s a big love letter to Brian De Palma and Alfred Hitchcock where suspense is the driving force on every page.”

Izzo added, “It’s great to work on a project that allows me to explore the comic book medium in such a cinematic way. I owe this to Zac’s multi-layered writing that creates suspense and interest at a FANTASTIC pace. I have always been fascinated by movies and comics where the direction is used in a three-dimensional way that focuses on storytelling and where the environment is an active part of the narrative. I hope all my passion for it translates to the page.”

Blow Away #1 will be available April 17.