Knock Em Dead is a five-issue miniseries from AfterShock Comics, which is due for release in trade paperback format on August 11.

And today The Beat has the entire first issue available for readers below. For the uninitiated, Knock Em Dead is a story that lives at the intersection of standup comedy and the paranormal. It’s written by Eliot Rahal, illustrated by Mattia Monaco, colored by Matt Milla, and lettered by Taylor Esposito. The cover is drawn by Andy Clarke and colored by Jose Villarrubia. 

In addition to the comedy and the horror elements found in this story, there is also a story about a brother and a sister relationship that runs throughout. The book spans 128 pages, and it is set to retail for $16.99. This one collected volume in a trade paperback contains the entire series

Check out the first issue now courtesy of AfterShock below!

$16.99 / 128 pages / Color / On Sale 8.11.2021
Writer: Eliot Rahal
Artist: Mattia Monaco
Colorist: Matt Milla
Letterer: Taylor Esposito
Cover: Andy Clarke with Jose Villarrubia

Sometimes you kill. Sometimes you get killed. But no matter what, everyone dies the first time they go on stage.

Pryor Brice has always wanted to be funny. And now, he’s taken the plunge and started doing stand-up comedy. Unfortunately, his older sister – Ronan – wants her brother to stop daydreaming and focus on his future.

Pryor is determined to succeed…the only problem is: He totally sucks at stand-up. That is…until an accident changes everything, leading both Pryor and Ronan to discover comedy isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

KNOCK EM DEAD is a supernatural horror about comedy, brought to you by writer Eliot Rahal (MIDNIGHT VISTA, HOT LUNCH SPECIAL) and artist Mattia Monaco. This volume contains the entire series, issues #1-5.