The comics news website Broken Frontier has announced the winners of its annual awards, as chosen by readers and industry professionals. Image Comics was a winner, as you might expect, but female creators won in 5 of the 13 categories, suggesting that the arrival of talented and noteworthy women in comics is a thing that is here and now and not some hoped for future event. The winners are as follows:

1. Best Writer – Mainstream: G. Willow Wilson (Ms. Marvel)
2. Best Writer – Independent/Creator-owned: Darryl Cunningham (Supercrash: How To Hijack The Global Economy, Uncle Bob Adventures Vol. 2)
3. Best Artist – Mainstream: Declan Shalvey (Moon Knight)
4. Best Artist – Independent/Creator-owned: Farel Dalrymple (The Wrenchies)
5. Best Colorist: Elizabeth Breitweiser (Fatale, The Fade Out, Outcast, Velvet)
6. Breakout Talent: Tula Lotay (Bodies, Supreme: Blue Rose)
7. Best New Series: Southern Bastards (Jason Aaron & Jason Latour, Image)
8. Best Ongoing Series: Lazarus (Greg Rucka & Michael Lark, Image)
9. Best Limited Series: Bodies (Si Spencer, Tula Lotay, Phil Winslade, Meghan Hetrick & Dean Ormston, DC/Vertigo)
10. Best One-Shot: Over Under Sideways Down (Karrie Fransman, Red Cross)
11. Best Original Graphic Novel: This One Summer (Jillian Tamaki & Mariko Tamaki, First Second)
12. Best Book on Comics: Comics Unmasked (Paul Gravett & John Harris Dunning, British Library)
13. Best Publisher: Image Comics





* American Comics, Literary Theory, and Religion: The Superhero Afterlife (A. David Lewis, Palgrave Macmillan)
* Comics Unmasked (Paul Gravett & John Harris Dunning, British Library)
* Graphic Details: Jewish Women’s Confessional Comics in Essays and Interviews (edited by Sarah Lightman, McFarland)
* Hellboy: The First 20 Years (Mike Mignola, Dark Horse)
* Masterful Marks: Cartoonists Who Changed the World (Monte Beauchamp et al, Simon & Schuster)



* Avery Hill Publishing
* BOOM! Studios/Archaia
* First Second
* Image Comics
* SelfMadeHero