Believe it or not, it’s awards season. Two of the most prestigious cartooning prizes of the year have been recently announced, with more on the way.

The start with, the Pulitzer Prize winners were announced yesterday and The New Yorker’s Barry Blitt was the winner. From the official website:

Barry Blitt, contributor, The New Yorker

For work that skewers the personalities and policies emanating from the Trump White House with deceptively sweet watercolor style and seemingly gentle caricatures. (Moved into contention by the Board.)

Finalists were:

Kevin Kallaugher, freelancer
Lalo Alcaraz, freelancer
Matt Bors of The Nib

Blitt’s work for the New Yorker encompasses more than 100 covers, and distinctive work for Vanity Fair, Time, Rolling Stone, and The Atlantic, and the New York Times. Like the judges said, his wispy style belies his cutting comedy.

LA Times Book Prize

the hard tomorrow
The LA Times Book Prize winner in the Graphic Novel category was also announcer announced a few weeks back and it was Eleanor Davis’s The Hard Tomorrow (Drawn and Quarterly) – a very fine winner, as usual. The Beat’s John Seven reviewed it here. Winners were announced via Twitter.  The other finalists:

Michael DeForge Leaving Richard’s Valley (Drawn and Quarterly)
Jaime Hernandez Is This How You See Me (Fantagraphics)
Keum Suk Gendry-Kim Grass (Drawn and Quarterly)
Mariko Tamaki & Rosemary Valero-O’Connell Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me (First Second)

The prize category was judged by James Kuo, Charles Solomon and Angie Wang.


flyingkitescover.pngThe Cartoonist Studio Prize

Finally the shortlists for the The Cartoonist Studio Prizes have been announced. This is a collaboration between Slate and the Center for Cartoon Studies. Ten finalists are announced in the print and online categories. And they are:

Best Print Comic of the Year: 2019 Shortlist

Bttm Fdrs by Ben Passmore and Ezra Claytan Daniels. Fantagraphics.
Flying Kites by the Stanford Graphic Novel Project. Self-published.
Glenn Ganges in the River at Night by Kevin Huizenga. Drawn and Quarterly.
Grass by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim. Drawn and Quarterly.
The Hard Tomorrow by Eleanor Davis. Drawn and Quarterly.
Hot Comb by Ebony Flowers. Drawn and Quarterly.
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell. First Second.
Pittsburgh by Frank Santoro. New York Review Comics.
Sobek by James Stokoe. ShortBox.
The Tenderness of Stones by Marion Fayolle. New York Review Comics.

Best Web Comic of the Year: 2019 Shortlist

“About Face” by Nate Powell.
“Cabramatta” by Matt Huynh.
Eat Street Diners Club by Will Dinski.*
“I Am More Than My Chromosomes” by Elísabet Rún.
Koreangry by Eunsoo Jeong.
“Loving My Inner Black Weirdo” by Bianca Xunise.*
Paranatural by Zack Morrison.
Sleepless Domain by Mary Cagle.
Tiger, Tiger by Petra Erika Nordlund.
“Unhealthy” by Abby Howard.