§ The winners of Slate’s first ever Cartoonist Studio Prize have been announced: Chris Ware and Building Stories in the Best Graphic Novel of the Year category and Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona for webcomics. Winners and finalists were slected by Slat’es Dan Kois selected student from CCS and guest judge Françoise Mouly.


§ The finalists in the 2013 Spectrum Fantastic Art Awards have also been announced. YOu can see all the finalists and their art in this video:

But to cut to the chase the nominees in the Comics category are:

• Jennifer L. Meyer, Aesop’s Ark, Ch. 2, P2
• David Petersen, Mouse Guard Black Axe #4, Page 19
• Paolo Rivera, Daredevil #10
• Paolo Rivera, Captain America #1
• João Ruas, Fables #121