As awards season races on, it’s time for the annual Russ Manning Awards nominees to be announced. The prize, presented annually since 1982 at the San Diego Comic-Con, is given to a comics artist who, early in their career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics.
The 2019 nominees are:
lorena alvarez manning nominee hicotea
Lorena Alvarezwriter/artist of Hicotea and Nightlights (Nobrow)
ellenn t crenshaw manning nominee
Ellen T. Crenshaw, artist of Kiss Number 8 (First Second)

M. J. Kimartist of Faith: Dreamside (Valiant)
sumit kumar manning nominee
Sumit Kumar, artist of These Savage Shores (Vault Comics) and Ruin of Thieves (Action Lab)
kieran mckeown manning nominee
Kieran McKeown, artist of Halo: Lone Wolf (Dark Horse)
As usual, it’s a pretty stunning array of artists. And as befits the current state of the comics industry, these five artists represent an international spectrum: Crenshaw and Kim are in the U.S. (Los Angeles and New York, respectively), Alvarez hails from Bogota, Colombia, Kumar lives in India, and McKeown is Irish.
The nominees were chosen by a panel consisting of board and committee members of Comic-Con International and a San Diego comics retailer. Previous winners include such luminaries as an Duursema, Dave Stevens, Steve Rude, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Eric Shanower, Dan Brereton, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, David Petersen, Cathy Malkasian, Eleanor Davis, Tyler Crook, Dan Mora, and Greg Smallwood. SO the winner will be in good company. 
The winner will be announced as part of the Eisner Awards ceremony on Friday, July 19th.
More information about the Manning Awards and Russ Manning, the artist they are named after, can be found here.
CORRECTION: We originally had the wrong art and link for artist MJ Kim; it has been updated. 


Comments are closed.