They’re here! The new, streamlined Harvey Award nominations. As opposed to the old traditional list of Inkers, Letters, etc, the new Harveys have only six categories, Book of the Year, Digital Book of the Year, Best Children or Young Adult Book, Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel, Best Manga and Best European Book.

The nominees were selected by a selected list of comics professionals, and winners will be voted on by all industry professionals. Attendees who have been previously approved for a Pro Badge or Artist Alley Badge at a 2016, 2017 or 2018 ReedPOP comic convention (New York Comic Con, Emerald City Comic Con, C2E2) are automatically eligible to cast their ballot. Voting will conclude on September 3rd. Those who wish to apply to vote can do so here: <>.

“We are proud to announce the nominees for the new slate of Harvey Awards. By opening up the process to librarians, educators, retailers and more, we believe that we have an accurate representation of this year’s best graphic works,” said Nellie Kurtzman, co-chair of the Harvey Awards Steering Committee.

“ReedPOP is thrilled to help honor the life and work of the great Harvey Kurtzman by spotlighting the best that this medium has to offer,” said Lance Fensterman, Global President of ReedPOP. “I wish all of our wonderful nominees the best of luck and look forward to the winners being announced at our gala event on the Friday of New York Comic Con.”

Winners will be announced at a “gala event” on Friday, October 5th at Shop Studios (528 W 39th St) at 8:30pm.

The nominees this year are a large list and include many of the most acclaimed mainstream books of the past year. Marvel and DC are represented but it’s mostly book trade publications and graphic novels. And nothing too embarassing, so a big step up from past Harvey slates.

Harvey Awards Logo

And the nominees are:

  *   Book of the Year
*   BLACK HAMMER: SECRET ORIGINS by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston and Dave Stewart (Dark Horse)
*   BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn and Quarterly)
*   EVERYTHING IS FLAMMABLE by Gabrielle Bell (Uncivilized Books)
*   HOSTAGE by Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)
*   KINDRED by Octavia E. Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy and illustrated by John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)
*   LIGHTER THAN MY SHADOW by Katie Green (Lion Forge)
*   MONSTRESS by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)
*   MY FAVORITE THING IS MONSTERS by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)
*   ROUGHNECK by Jeff Lemire (Gallery 13)
*   SHADE THE CHANGING GIRL by Cecil Castellucci and Marley Zarcone (DC Comics)
*   SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
*   THE BEST WE COULD DO by Thi Bui (Abrams Books)
*   THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS WRONG by Mimi Pond (Drawn and Quarterly)
*   THE FLINSTONES by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh (DC Comics)
*   THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang (First Second)

  *   Digital Book of the Year
*   BANDETTE by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
*   BARRIER by Brian K. Vaughn, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente (Panel Syndicate)
*   CHECK, PLEASE!: #HOCKEY by Ngozi Ukazu (
*  NOT DRUNK ENOUGH by Tess Stone (
*   THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY by Katie O’Neill (

  *   Best Children or Young Adult Book
*   BRAVE by Svetlana Chmakova (JY)
*   REAL FRIENDS by Shannon Hale and LeUyeun Pham (First Second)
*   SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
*   THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang (First Second)
*   THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY, by Katie O’Neill (Oni Press)

  *   Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel
*   ATOMIC BLONDE (Focus Features) – Directed by David Leitch. Adapted from “The Coldest City” (Oni Press)
*   BLACK PANTHER (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Ryan Coogler. Adapted from “Black Panther” (Marvel Comics)
*   THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Chris McKay. Adapted from “Batman” (DC Comics)
*   LOGAN (20th Century Fox) – Directed by James Mangold. Adapted from “Wolverine” (Marvel Comics)
*   MY FRIEND DAHMER (FilmRise) – Directed by Marc Meyers. Adapted from “My Friend Dahmer” (Abrams ComicArts)
*   PREACHER (AMC) – Developed by Sam Catlin, Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg. Adapted from “Preacher” (DC/Vertigo)
*   RIVERDALE (The CW) – Developed by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Adapted from “Archie” (Archie Comics)
*   THE END OF THE F***ING WORLD (Netflix) – Written by Charlie Covell. Adapted from “The End of the F***ing World” (Fantagraphics)
*   THOR: RAGNAROK (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Taika Waititi. Adapted from “Thor” (Marvel Comics)
*   WONDER WOMAN (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Patty Jenkins. Adapted from “Wonder Woman” (DC Comics)

  *   Best Manga
*   MY BROTHER’S HUSBAND by Gengoroh Tagame Anne Ishii (Pantheon Graphic Library)
*   MY HERO ACADEMIA by Kohei Horikoshi (Viz Media)
*   TOKYO GHOUL by Sui Ishida (Viz Media)
*   YOUR NAME by Makoto Shinkai and Ranmaru Kotone (Yen Press)

  *   Best European Book
*   AUDUBON: ON THE WINGS OF THE WORLD by Fabien Grolleau and Jerémie Royer (Nobrow)
*   FLIGHT OF THE RAVEN by Jean-Pierre Gibrat (IDW)
*   THE GHOST OF GAUDI by El Torres and Jesús Alonso Iglesias (Magnetic Press)
*   THE LADIES IN WAITING by Santiago García and Javier Olivares (Fantagraphics)

For more information about Harvey Kurtzman and the Harvey Awards, please visit<> or the Harvey Awards social media pages (Facebook<> and Twitter<>). The 2017/2018 Harvey Awards Steering Committee is chaired by Nellie Kurtzman along with noted industry veterans John Lind and Chip Mosher.


  1. They got rid of creator categories and added a studio movie category instead? The movie industry won’t even acknowledge this award show exists, while actual comic creators would be overjoyed to even be nominated. amusing.

  2. Looks good. If the goal is to get me to think about reading the nominees that I have yet to read/watch, it does that, and the simplicity helps.

  3. I couldn’t get the registration form to work on either Firefox or Edge. Will try Chrome and IE when I get home….

    Movie awards seems like a really poor idea, though.


Comments are closed.