Alex Alice, Audrey Benjaminsen, David Palumbo, James Turner and Lisa Wood (aka Tula Lotay) are the comics finalists for the 2015s Spectrum 22, the awards given to fantasy influenced art in a number of disciplines. Justin Gerard, Virginie Ropars, Greg Ruth, Annie Stegg Gerard and Dice Tsutsumi were this year’s judges, and the selected finalists for Gold or Silver medla sin eight categories. Winners will be announced at the Spectrum 22 Awards Ceremony held in conjunction with the Spectrum Fantastic Art Live event in Kansas City, Missouri on Saturday, May 23th. Spectrum 22, edited by John Fleskes, will be published by Flesk Publications in November.

While the nominees above aren’t necessarily comics household names in the comics community aside from Lotay, they are pretty spectacular. Turner in particular has a solid and unusual body of geometrically inspired fantasy work in his portfolio. The full list of nominees is below and a few comics related folks can be discerned if you look.


Johnny Dombrowski — Murder on the Orient Express
Edward Kinsella III — Vernacchio
Victo Ngai — The Cloisters
Yuko Shimizu — Tokyo Night Show
Taylor Wessling — Barbarians: Faust

Dan dos Santos — Taking Flight
Scott Gustafson — Jack and the Sleeping Giant
Jeffrey Alan Love — Radiant State
Petar Meseldzija — The Giants are Coming
Sam Weber — cover for Dune by Frank Herbert

Comicslechateaudesetoiles1Alex Alice  — Castle in the Stars



Audrey Benjaminsen — Bernadette, page 1



David Palumbo — The Beast



James Turner — Rebel Angels



Lisa Wood — Rebels

Concept Art
Audrey Benjaminsen — Fairy 3
Sung Choi — The Parade
Te Hu — Wonders: Gate of Luxor
Kellan Jett — Meeting
Allen Williams — The Good Dog

Dan Chudzinski — The Mudpuppy
Mark Newman — Gallevarbe: Death’s Siren
Forest Rogers — Venetian Harpy
David Silva — Dragon vs. Raptors
Dug Stanat — A Bird From His Brim Will Guide Your Last Breath

Sam Bosma — Critical Education
Jensine Eckwall — This Circle: Walking Into The Wind
Edward Kinsella III — Gland Monster
Victo Ngai — Cocoon
Tran Nguyen — A Distressed Damsel

Ed Binkley — Rikshaw Pass
Laurie Brom — Bad Seed
Rovina Cai — Fake It
Jeffrey Alan Love — Skyrim
Jessica Shirley — The Child Sleeps

Paul Bonner — Beowulf: Mother
Donato Giancola — Descent from Caradhras
Rebecca Leveille Guay — Time and Chance
Omar Rayyan – A Night at the Races
Cynthia Sheppard — Momentum


Comments are closed.