The 2014 Joe Shuster Awards, honoring the best in Canadian comics, were handed out on Saturday and here are the winners. For more information on the legacy award winners, please check out the Shuster Awards home page. In addition, Jammin’ Jamie Coville recorded the ceremony and has more photos and a list of the winners handily formatted. Thank you Jamie!

Joe Shuster Awards 2014 (September 22) 19 Photos

Full 2014 Joe Shuster Awards Ceremony (1:13:35, 67.3mb)

Presented at the Back Space Toronto, 587A College Street, Toronto, Ontario.

The awards start off with a video of Stan Lee who congratulating a 2007 Joe Shuster Awards. The Awards had flashed 2014 on the screen for comedic effect.

The presenters were Kevin Boyd, Jennifer Haines, Robert Haines, Anthony Falcone & Scott VanderPloeg, Robert Pincombe, Andrew Walsh, Ivan Kocmarek and Scott Chantler.

Awards went to:


Ed Brisson – Sheltered 1-5, Comeback 3-5, Dia De Los Muertos 2 “The Skinny One” (Image), Secret Avengers 10-11 (Marvel)

Maryse Dubuc avec Marc Delafontaine – Les Nombrils T.06 : Un été trop mortel (Dupuis)

Ray Fawkes – Batgirl 17-18, Constantine 5-9 (w/Jeff Lemire) 1-4, Justice League Dark (w/Jeff Lemire) 16-21, Legends of the Dark Knight 9 “Tap Tap”, Trinity of Sin: Pandora 1-6, Young Romance “Dreamer” (DC Comics), Time Warp “00:00:03? (DC/Vertigo) Creepy 14 “Black Feathers” (Dark Horse), Pathfinder: Goblins 3 “The Way of the Goblin” (Dynamite)

Jeff Lemire – Animal Man 16-26, Annual 2, Constantine (w/Ray Fawkes) 1-5, Batman: Black and White 2 “Winter’s End”, Green Arrow 17-16, Justice League of America (w/Geoff Johns) 6-7, Justice League Dark (w/Ray Fawkes) 16-21, Swamp Thing (w/Scott Snyder) 17 (DC Comics), American Vampire Anthology 1 “Canadian Vampire” (DC/Vertigo)

Ryan North – Adventure Time 12-23, Midas Flesh 1 (Boom!)

Ami Vaillancourt – Kissinger & nous T.01, Charlebois & l’Osstidgang (Glénat Québec)

Kurtis Wiebe – Rat Queens 1-3, Peter Panzerfaust 8-15, Dia De Los Muertos 3 “Lonesome” (Image)

Cartoonist / Auteur:

Darwyn Cooke – Richard Stark’s Parker: Slayground (IDW)

Ray Fawkes – The Spectral Engine (McClelland & Stewart)

Réal Godbout – Amérique ou le disparu (La Pastèque) / Amerika (Conundrum Press, 2014)

Jeff Lemire – Trillium 1-5 (DC/Vertigo), Adventures of Superman 1 “Fortress” (DC Comics)

Francis Manapul – The Flash (with Brian Buccelato, USA) 16-17, 19-25 (DC Comics)

Joe Ollmann – Science Fiction (Conundrum Press)

Zviane – les Deuxièmes (Pow Pow)

Artist / Dessinateur:

Nick Bradshaw – Wolverine and the X-Men 23, 31-25, Annual 1 (Marvel Comics)

Delaf – Les Nombrils 06 : Un été trop mortel (Dupuis)

Djief – Le crépuscule des Dieux T.07: Grand hiver (Soleil)

Jason Fabok – Detective Comics 16-20. 22-25 (DC Comics)

Stuart Immonen – All-New X-Men 5, 9-14, 16-18, X-Men: Battle for the Atom 1 (Marvel Comics)

Julie Rocheleau – Colère de Fantômas T.01: Les bois de justice (Dargaud)

Chip Zdarsky – Sex Criminals 1-3 (Image)

Fiona Staples – Saga 9-17 (Image)

Cover Artist / Dessinateur Couvertures:

Kalman Andrasofszky

Nick Bradshaw

Mike Del Mundo


Ken Lashley

Michael Walsh

Julie Rocheleau

Webcomics Creator / Créateur de Bandes Dessinées Web:

Attila Adorjany – Metaphysical Neuroma

Olivier Carpentier and Gautier Langevin – Far Out

Emily Carroll – The Three Snake Leaves, Grave of the Lizard Queen, Out of Skin

Kadi Fedoruk – Blindsprings

Canaan Grall – Max Overacts

Dakota McFadzean – The Dailies and Chilblains

Ty Templeton – Bun Toons

Jayd Aït-Kaci (with Christina Strain) – The Fox Sister

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids) / Le Prix Dragon (Bandes Dessinées pour Enfants):

The Advenures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks (Dark Horse)

L’Agent Jean tomes 4 et 5 by Alex A. (Presses Aventure)

Bigfoot Boy Vol.2 by J. Torres and Faith Erin Hicks (Kids Can Press)

Guiby tome 1 by Sampar (Michel Quintin)

Hocus Pocus Takes the Train by Sylvie Desrosiers and Remy Simard (Kids Can Press)

Odd Duck by Cecil Castelucci and (Sara Varon) (First Second)

Spera Vol.2 by Josh Tierney and Kyla Vanderklugt (with various non-Canadian artists) (Archaia)

Couette tomes 2 et 3 by (Severin Gauthier) and Minikim (Dargaud)

Gene Day Award (Self-Publishers) / Prix Gene Day (Auto-éditeurs):

Jordyn Bochon – The Terrible Death of Finnegan Strappe: The Claw of the Earth #2

Antonin Buisson – garder le rythme

Stephen Burger – TALK!

James Edward Clark – Evil Issue 2

Cloudscape Comics Collective – Waterlogged: Tales from the Seventh Sea

Mike Myhre – Barbaric Sword of Savagery

Diana Tamblyn – Gerald Bull and the Supergun Vol. 1

Steven Gilbert – The Journal of the Main Street Secret Lodge

Harry Kremer Award (Retailers) / Prix Harry Kremer (Détaillants):

Amazing Stories (Saskatoon, SK)

Comic Readers (Regina, SK)

Another Dimension (Calgary, AB)

Timemasters (St. John’s, NL)

The Comic Shop (Vancouver, BC)

New Award! The T.M. Maple Award / Prix T.M. Maple:

Jim Burke (1956-1994) (A.K.A. T.M. Maple) & Debra Jane Shelly (1974-2014)

Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame / Temple de la renommée Créateur Canadien de Bandes Dessinées:

CY BELL (1904-197?), EDMOND GOOD (1910-1991), TY TEMPLETON (1962-)

Details about the awards can be found JoeShusterAwards.com

Comments are closed.