Honouring the best in Canadian comics from a broader portfolio than the Edgar Wright Awards, the The 2014 Joe Shuster Award nominees are up. Winners will be chosen by a jury and presented at an event to be named later.

The nominees themselves cover a wide spectrum and seem to be of the “let’s honor as much as we can” variety meaning that no one creatoive team dominates; however Jeff Lemire and Ray Fawkes have two apiece.

Writer / Scénariste

Ed Brisson – Sheltered, Comeback, Dia De La Muertos (Image), Secret Avengers (Marvel)
Maryse Dubuc avec Marc Delafontaine – Les Nombrils T.06 : Un été trop mortel (Dupuis)
Ray Fawkes – Batgirl, Constantine, Justice League Dark, Legends of the Dark Knight, Trinity of Sin: Pandora, Young Romance (DC Comics), American Vampire Anthology, Time Warp (DC/Vertigo) Creepy (Dark Horse), Pathfinder: Goblins (Dynamite)
Jeff Lemire – Adventures of Superman, Animal Man, Constantine, Green Arrow, Justice League of America, Justice League Dark (DC Comics), Time Warp (DC/Vertigo)
Ryan North – Adventure Time, Midas Flesh (Boom!)
Ami Vaillencourt – Kissinger & nous T.01, Charlebois & l’Osstidgang (Glénat Québec)
Kurtis Wiebe – Rat Queens, Peter Panzerfaust, Dia De La Muertos (Image)

Cartoonist / Auteur

Darwyn Cooke – Richard Stark’s Parker: Slayground (IDW)
Ray Fawkes – The Spectral Engine (McClelland & Stewart)
Réal Godbout – Amérique ou le disparu (La Pastèque)
Jeff Lemire – Trillium (DC/Vertigo)
Francis Manapul – The Flash (with Brian Buccelato, USA) (DC Comics)
Joe Ollmann – Science Fiction (Conundrum Press)
Zviane – les Deuxièmes (Pow Pow)

Artist / Dessinateur

Nick Bradshaw – Wolverine and the X-Men (Marvel Comics)
Delaf – Les Nombrils 06 : Un été trop mortel (Dupuis)
Djief – Le crépuscule des Dieux T.07: Grand hiver (Soleil)
Jason Fabok – Detective Comics (DC Comics)
Stuart Immonen – All-New X-Men, X-Men: Battle for the Atom (Marvel Comics)
Julie Rocheleau – Colère de Fantômas T.01: Les bois de justice (Dargaud)
Fiona Staples – Saga (Image)
Chip Zdarsky – Sex Criminals (Image)

Cover Artist / Dessinateur Couvertures

Kalman Andrasofszky
Nick Bradshaw
Mike Del Mundo
Ken Lashley
Julie Rocheleau
Michael Walsh

Webcomics Creator / Créateur de Bandes Dessinées Web

Attila Adorjany – Metaphysical Neuroma
Jayd Aït-Kaci (with Christina Strain) – The Fox Sister
Olivier Carpentier and Gautier Langevin – Far Out
Emily Carroll – The Three Snake Leaves, Grave of the Lizard Queen, Out of Skin
Kadi Fedoruk – Blindsprings
Canaan Grall – Max Overacts
Dakota McFadzean – The Dailies and Chilbleans
Ty Templeton – Bun Toons

The Dragon Award (Comics for Kids) / Le Prix Dragon (Bandes Dessinées pour Enfants)

The Advenures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks (Dark Horse)
L’Agent Jean tomes 4 et 5 by Alex A. (Presses Aventure)
Bigfoot Boy Vol.2 by J. Torres and Faith Erin Hicks (Kids Can Press)
Couette tomes 2 et 3 by (Severin Gauthier) and Minikim (Dargaud)
Guiby tome 1 by Sampar (Michel Quintin)
Hocus Pocus Takes the Train by Sylvie Desrosiers and Remy Simard (Kids Can Press)
Odd Duck by Cecil Castelucci and (Sara Varon) (First Second)
Spera Vol.2 by Josh Tierney and Kyla Vanderklugt (with various non-Canadian artists) (Archaia)

Gene Day Award (Self-Publishers) / Prix Gene Day (Auto-éditeurs)
Jordyn Bochon – The Terrible Death of Finnegan Strappe: The Claw of the Earth #2
Antonin Buisson – garder le rythme
Stephen Burger – TALK!
James Edward Clark – Evil Issue 2
Cloudscape Comics Collective – Waterlogged: Tales from the Seventh Sea
Steven Gilbert – The Journal of the Main Street Secret Lodge
Mike Myhre – Barbaric Sword of Savagery
Diana Tamblyn – Gerald Bull and the Supergun Vol. 1

Harry Kremer Award (Retailers) / Prix Harry Kremer (Détaillants)

Amazing Stories (Saskatoon, SK)
Another Dimension (Calgary, AB)
The Comic Hunter (Moncton, NB)
Imaginaire (Quebec City, QC)
Comic Readers (Regina, SK)
The Comic Shop (Vancouver, BC)
Paradise Comics (Toronto, ON)
Conspiracy Comics (Burlington, ON)
Timemasters (St. John’s, NL)
Stuff 2 Do Toys & Games (Iqaluit, NU)
This list will reduced from ten (10) to five (5) in July 2014.

Inductees into the Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame(Temple de la renommée Créateur Canadien de Bandes Dessinées) will be announced un July.


  1. I really enjoy the films of Edgar, but the TCAF awards are named after cartoonist Doug Wright. There aren’t many creative teams where both the writer and artist are Canadian, unless they are one and the same (and that’s a unique category) – hence the variety of nominees in the creative categories. Pretty good year that 2013.

Comments are closed.