The 2014 Ignatz Awards have announced their nominations. As usual with this indie-comics focused award the nominees are an eclectic bunch, maybe even more eclectic than usual, going from the National Book Award-nominees Boxers and Saints in the Outstaind Graphic Novel category, to a mix of mostly little known outside indie circles nominees in Newcomer, Story and Comic…and that’s why the Ignatzes are great, they introduce us to a whole new list of comics to check out.

The nominees were chosen by a five-person jury this year consisting of Darryl Ayo, Austin English, Melissa Mendes, Thien Pham and Whit Taylor. Winners will be chonse by the attendees of the Small Press Expo on September 13th and presented in a gala awards ceremony that night, sponsored by Comixology and Submit.

And the nominees are:


Outstanding Artist
Sam Bosma – Fantasy Basketball
Kim Deitch – The Amazing, Enlightening and Absolutely True Adventures of Katherine Whaley
Sophie Goldstein – Darwin Carmichael is Going To Hell; Edna II; House of Women
Ed Piskor – Hip Hop Family Tree Vol. 1
Jesse Reklaw – Couch Tag

Outstanding Anthology or Collection

Amazing Facts and Beyond – Kevin Huizenga and Dan Zettwoch
The End – Anders Nilsen
Eye of the Majestic Creature Vol. 2 – Leslie Stein
Sock Monkey Treasury – Tony Millionaire
QU33R – ed. Robert Kirby

Outstanding Graphic Novel

The Amazing, Enlightening and Absolutely True Adventures of Katherine Whaley – Kim Deitch
The Boxer – Reinhard Kleist
Boxers and Saints – Gene Luen Yang
This One Summer – Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki
War of Streets and Houses – Sophie Yanow

Outstanding Story

“Brownout Biscuit,” from Octopus Pie: Dead Forever – Meredith Gran
Destination X – John Martz
The Grassy Knoll – Nick Drnaso
“Jobs” from Life Zone – Simon Hanselmann
“Mom” from Viewotron #2 – Sam Sharpe


Promising New Talent

Luke Howard -Trevor
Cathy G. Johnson – Jeremiah; Boy Genius; Until It Runs Clear
Nick Offerman – Orange; Onions
Keiler Roberts – Powdered Milk
Daryl Seitchik – Missy

Outstanding Series
The Black Feather Falls – Ellen Lindner
Demon – Jason Shiga
Powdered Milk – Keiler Roberts
Sky in Stereo – Sacha Mardou
Towerkind – Kat Verhoeven


Outstanding Comic
Blammo #8 – Noah Van Sciver
Cosplayers – Dash Shaw
It Will All Hurt #2– Farel Dalrymple
Misliving Amended – Adam Buttrick
Wicked Chicken Queen – Sam Alden

Outstanding Minicomic
The Grassy Knoll – Nick Drnaso
House of Women – Sophie Goldstein
Never Forgets – Yumi Sakugawa
Test Tube #1 – Carlos Gonzalez
Up to the Top – Ian Sampson

Outstanding Online Comic

Band for Life by Anya Davidson

Big Dogs at Nite by Dane Martin

Demon by Jason Shiga

On Hiatus by Pete Toms

Vattu by Evan Dahm


  1. Both the Ignatz and the Eisner Awards need a better nominating process.

    Because, having seen the news from our geeky cousins in London, I’m wondering how Randall Munroe was overlooked.

Comments are closed.