The Stumptown Awards were given out at the like-named festival on Saturday night, and we haven’t checked twitter or Facebook for the evidence of hijinks but hopefully Beat reporter Jen Vaughn, who was on the scene, will have all the dish in her report. We do know the eremont was hosted by Bobby “Fatboy” Roberts and winner were chosen on a public ballot. Here is the very fine bunch of winners:


Best Artist
Emily Carroll
, His Face All Red

Best Writer
Aaron Renier
, The Unsinkable Walker Bean

Best Cartoonist
Bryan Lee O’Malley
, Scott Pilgrim’s Finest Hour

Best Letterer
Johnny Ryan
, Prison Pit #2

Best Colorist
Emily Carroll
, His Face All Red

Best Publication Design
Michael DeForge
, Spotting Deer

Best Anthology
Studygroup 12 #4, edited by Zack Soto

Best Small Press
“I Want You #2” by Lisa Hanawalt

Best New Talent
Michael DeForge

Reader’s Choice
Pang, the Wandering Shaolin Monk by Ben Costa

Director’s Choice
The Sixth Gun, by Brian Hurtt and Cullen Bunn, published by Oni Press

The awards were sculpted by Leslie Levings of, with shelves provided by Lavrans Mathiesen, a Portland woodworker.