This year marks the 60th anniversary of Marvel’s First Family, the Fantastic Four, and Marvel continues the celebration this November with a six-issue limited series featuring everyone’s favorite “Ever-Lovin’ Blue-Eyed” member of the team: Ben Grimm, better known as The Thing. Written by acclaimed crime novelist Walter Mosley and with art by Tom Reilly, the series will see “Ben Grimm embarking on a sojourn that will have him confronting—and battling—figures both old and new.” Marvel promises that the series will “remind audiences why The Thing is one of the most popular and beloved characters in the history of comics!”

Walter Mosley

The rocky member of the FF has headlined his own title at various times in the past. Previous series include The Thing: Freakshow, a four-issue miniseries written by Geoff Johns and illustrated by Scott Kolins and The Thing: Night Falls on Yancy Street written by Evan Dorkin and illustrated by Dean Haspiel. Current Fantastic Four writer Dan Slott penned the last ongoing series for The Thing in 2005, which lasted 8 issues before it was canceled.

Check out design artwork of The Thing, which Reilly shared on Twitter, below. The Thing #1 arrives in stores in November.

Written by Walter Mosley
Penciled by Tom Reilly
Cover by Tom Reilly
On sale November 2021