[adrotate group="10"]

Dan Parent, prolific Archie cartoonist and creator of Kevin Keller, the first out gay character in Riverdale, has announced a Kickstarter Campaign for Kevin Keller Celebration!, an over 700-page omnibus compendium that includes the comics that make up the character’s first decade in Archie Comics!

A History of Keller

Kevin Keller was introduced in Veronica #202 in September 2010. This issue was so popular that Archie Comics elected to reprint it – a first for the publisher (no small feat, considering there had already been seven decades of Archie at that point).

“When Dan came to me with the idea of introducing Kevin to Archie Comics ten years ago, I knew we were on the precipice of a huge cultural shift for our brand and for that reason, among many others, is why we fully support Dan’s campaign efforts,” said Archie Comics CEO/Publisher Jon Goldwater said in a press release, the rest of which is included below. “The introduction of Kevin, Archie Comics first gay character, ignited readers and fans across the country and it’s a testament to Dan’s creative work that Kevin is such a positive and everlasting fixture in the world of Riverdale.”

Kevin went on to play an important role in Life with Archie, which ran from 2010 through 2014. And when Riverdale premiered on the CW in 2017, Kevin was a main member of the cast, played by Casey Cott, a role he continues to play in the ongoing fifth season.

Needless to say, Kevin swiftly become an integral part of the Archie Comics gang!

Kevin Keller Celebration! Kickstarter

The Kevin Keller Celebration! Kickstarter Campaign has the full approval of Archie Comics.

“For the past 35 years, I’ve had the pleasure to work on multiple characters and titles for Archie, but my heart always comes back to my heart and soul, Kevin Keller,” said Parent in the statement. “Being able to spearhead this campaign, with the support of Archie Comics, is the perfect way to continue the legacy of the character as well as celebrate the 80th anniversary of Archie Comics.”

Will you be supporting the Kevin Keller Celebration! Kickstarter Campaign? The Beat wants to hear from you! Let us know what you’re thinking, either here in the comment section or over on social media @comicsbeat.  

WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN… KELLER

Prolific Comic Creator Dan Parent Announces Kickstarter Campaign for KEVIN KELLER CELEBRATION! 

To Mark His First Decade in Riverdale, Comic Omnibus
Will Celebrate Kevin Keller’s Greatest Moments
 

(Los Angeles, CA) – September 13th, 2021– American comic book artist, writer and Archie Comics legend, Dan Parent, announced today a Kickstarter campaign to develop KEVIN KELLER CELEBRATION!, an omnibus of the trailblazing character’s first decade in Riverdale. With the blessing of Archie Comics, this complete compendium of all things Kevin will feature over 700-pages of comic book fun, chronicling Kevin’s game-changing first appearance to where Kevin’s legacy stands today.

Harvey Award nominee and 2013 GLAAD Award winner, Parent aims to build on the massive success of the highly successful Kickstarter campaign tied to his hit comic series DIE KITTY DIE with a comprehensive look at the life and times of Archie Comics’ first LGBTQ+ character. Fans of Kevin, Riverdale and Archie Comics will revel in this celebratory collection which features Kevin’s first appearance, the four issue mini-series, the complete fifteen issue KEVIN KELLER series, the LIFE WITH KEVIN graphic novel, highlights, extras and so much more!

Additional details on the KEVIN KELLER CELEBRATION! campaign as well as a full breakdown of Kickstarter rewards can be seen here.

 

 

[adrotate group="10"]

Leave a Reply