The 2020 GLAAD Award for Outstanding Comic Book has been awarded to Star Wars: Doctor Aphra from Marvel Comics.

In a recorded message, writer Si Spurrier accepted the award on behalf of all of the writers and artists who have worked on the series. He also specifically shouted out Kieron Gillen and Salvador Larroca, who originated the character in Darth Vader (2015) #3.

Best Outstanding Comic Book

“Love is love, irrespective of the who and the how, so it’s been a great joy to have unfurled a little rainbow flag in everyone’s favorite galaxy far, far away,” said Spurrier.

The full list of winners of the 2020 GLAAD Award for Outstanding Comic Book included Spurrier, as well as Emilio Laiso, Andrea Broccardo, Wilton Santos, Casper Wijngaard, Marc Deering, Don Ho, Walden Wong, Chris Bolson, Scott Hanna, Elsa Charretier, Rachelle Rosenberg, Chris O’Halloran, Stephane Paitreau, Lee Loughridge, Edgar Delcado, Jim Campbell, Joe Caramagna, Mark Paniccia, and Tom Groneman.

2020 GLAAD Award for Outstanding Comic Book
The Winners

Doctor Aphra follows the eponymous character, a rogue archeologist with a penchant for weaponry and a heart made of whatever metal is considered most morally dubious in the Star Wars galaxy. In the the first volume of the character’s solo series, Aphra is on the run after double crossing Vader. She soon becomes entangled in a romantic subplot with Magna Tolvan, a cybernetically enhanced Imperial Officer with a weakness for Chelli’s particular brand of bantha poodoo.

The winners of the 31st Annual GLAAD Media Awards were announced on July 30th, 2020. The award recognizes media that accurately and inclusively represents members of the LGBTQ community as well as the issues that affect our lives.

The character of Doctor Aphra has become more and more popular since she was first introduced in 2015, and has recently launched the second volume of her standalone comic, as well as headlined an audio drama written by Sarah Kuhn.