The Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award is presented annually to a talented new artist, and submissions have opened with a May 27 deadline. All the details are in the link, but here are the eligibility requirements:

1. The artist must be a newcomer to the comics field, with no professional work published prior to January 2014. Exceptions to this rule are:

A. Work done as an unaccredited assistant to another artist
B. Fan publications
C. Any nonprofessional work done on the Internet
D. Small press with a print run of 1000 or less
E. A one-shot in a new talent anthology comic

Previous winners of the award range from Dave Stevens, the first winner, to Jorge Corona and Greg Smallwood, who tied last year. We’ve certainly seen a flood of talented new folks in the last two years, so get your manilla envelopes ready and send in those submissions.