Dark Blood #1 by LaToya Morgan (AMC’s The Walking Dead), Walt Barna (The Osiris Path), A.H.G., and AndWorld Design will arrive at your local comic shop on July 21st, 2021, but you can get your first look today, right here at The Beat!

Dark Blood
Dark Blood #1 main cover art by Valentine De Landro.

Dark Blood

Variant cover art by Juni Ba.

Here’s the series description from the press release from BOOM! Studios (the remainder of which you can read below the preview pages):

Alabama, 1955. Avery Aldridge was a decorated soldier during World War II; now he’s just an ordinary young Black man busy providing for his wife and daughter. But the wounds of the past have a way of coming back, and he’ll soon discover that he is anything but ordinary. After a run-in awakens strange new abilities, Avery’s about to become more powerful than he could have ever dared to dream… in a country and society that never wanted him to have any power.

Dark Blood
Variant cover by Dan Mora.

Dark Blood #1 will feature a main cover by De Landro (Bitch Planet), as well as variants by Ba (Excellence) and Mora (Once & Future).

Arriving on July 21st

Will you be heading to your local comic shop to pick up your copy of Dark Blood #1 when it arrives on July 21st? What do you think of the preview pages? Let The Beat know, either here in the comment section or over on social media @comicsbeat!

Your First Look at LaToya Morgan and Walt Barna’s DARK BLOOD #1  

Discover a Bold New Original Series from Acclaimed ‘The Walking Dead’ Screenwriter in July 2021

LOS ANGELES, CA (June 25, 2021) – BOOM! Studios today revealed a first look at DARK BLOOD #1, the premier issue of an evocative new six-issue original series from screenwriter LaToya Morgan (AMC’s The Walking Dead, Into The Badlands), rising star artist Walt Barna (The Osiris Path), colorist A.H.G., and letterer AndWorld Design, about a young man forging a brave new future for himself and his family while dealing with his past, available in July 2021.

DARK BLOOD #1 features main cover art by acclaimed artist Valentine De Landro (Bitch Planet), and variant covers by illustrators Juni Ba (Excellence) and Dan Mora (Once & Future).

DARK BLOOD is the newest release from BOOM! Studios’ eponymous imprint, home to critically acclaimed original series, including BRZRKR by Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt, and Ron Garney; We Only Find Them When They’re Dead by Al Ewing and Simone Di Meo; Seven Secrets by Tom Taylor and Daniele Di Nicuolo; Something is Killing the Children by James Tynion IV and Werther Dell’Edera; Once & Future by Kieron Gillen and Dan Mora; Proctor Valley Road by Grant Morrison, Alex Child, and Naomi Franquiz; The Many Deaths of Laila Starr by Ram V and Filipe Andrade; and Eve by Victor LaValle and Jo Mi-Gyeong. The imprint also publishes popular licensed properties, including Dune: House Atreides from Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson, and Dev Pramanik; Mighty Morphin and Power Rangers from Ryan Parrott, Marco Renna, and Francesco Mortarino; and Magic from Jed McKay and Ig Guara.

Print copies of DARK BLOOD #1 will be available for sale on July 21, 2021 exclusively at local comic book shops (use comicshoplocator.com to find the nearest one) or at the BOOM! Studios webstore. Digital copies can be purchased from content providers, including comiXology, iBooks, Google Play, and Kindle.

For continuing news on DARK BLOOD and more from BOOM!, stay tuned to www.boom-studios.com and follow @boomstudios on Twitter.