greg smallwood
Art by Greg Smallwood

This year’s nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award (commonly referred to as The Manning Award) have been announced. And they are:

The 2015 nominees are:

Jorge Corona, artist of Feathers (Archaia), Goners (Image), and Teen Titans Go (DC)

Vanesa R. Del Rey, artist of Hit (BOOM! Studios)

GABO (Gabriel Bautista), artist of The Life After (Oni Press)

Leila del Duca, artist of Shutter (Image)

Greg Smallwood, artist of Moon Knight (Marvel) and Dream Thief (Dark Horse)

Del Rey and Smallwood were nominees in 2014  as well.

Over the year Manning Award winners include Dave Stevens, Jan Duursema, Steve Rude, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Eric Shanower, Dan Brereton, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, David Petersen, Cathy Malkasian, Eleanor Davis, and Tyler Crook.It’s good company.

The winner, as selected by past Manning award winners and Russ Manning assistants, will be presented as part of the Eisner Award ceremony on July 10th. Nominees are selected by a committee including members of the West Coast Comics Club and Comic-Con International.

More information about the Manning Awards can be found at


Comic-Con International is a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to creating awareness of, and appreciation for, comics and related popular artforms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contribution of comics to art and culture.


Comments are closed.