2009 Shuster Award winners

The 2009 Joe Shuster Awards, honoring the finest in Canadian comics, were presented last night at the University of Toronto’s Innis Town Hall. The winners are:

David Finch – Ultimatum #1-2 (Marvel Comics)

Dave Sim – Glamourpuss #1-4, Judenhaas (Aardvark-Vanaheim)

François Lapierre – “Gédéon et la bête du lac” Contes et légendes du Québec (Glénat Québec), Magasin général 4 (Casterman)

Mariko Tamaki – Emiko Superstar (DC/Minx), Skim (Groundwood Books)

Niko Henrichon – Hostile Tome 1 (Dupuis)

Cameron Stewart – Sin Titulo

Les 400 Coups/Mécanique Générale

Comics for Kids
Kean Soo, Jellaby Book 1 (Hyperion)

Gene Day Award for Canadian Self-Publishers
Jesse Jacobs for Blue Winter, Shapes in the Snow.

The Harry Kremer Award for Outstanding Canadian Comic Book Retailer
Legends Comics and Books (Victoria, British Columbia)

Canadian Comic Book Creator Hall of Fame
* George Menendez Rae (1906-1992)
* Réal Godbout (1951-)
* Ken Steacy (1955-)
* Diana Schutz (1955-)

Congrats to all!



  1. […] David Finch, Sim, Niko Henrichon and Cameron Stewart all won at the Shuster Awards.  And if you haven’t been reading Stewart’s spectacular webcomic, Sin Titulo, you should begin doing so: now. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *