The inaugural 9th Art Awards, a new graphic novel prize hosted by Graphic Scotland and awarded during the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, have announced their shortlist for the prize. It’s basically exactly the shortlist of comics you’d expect, no real surprises at who made the final five:



Building Stories, by Chris Ware

Days of the Bagnold Summer by Joff Winterhart

The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil by Stephen Collins

Naming Monsters by Hannah Eaton

The Nao of Brown by Glyn Dillon


So there’s another chance for Chris Ware to add another trophy to his collection (he must be running out of room by now), although the common view seems to be that this is Glyn Dillon’s award to lose.

The winner will be announced on Sunday during the ‘Stripped’ period of the festival, with the judges – Paul Gravett, Hannah McGill, Adrian Searle and Mary Talbot – leading a discussion on why they chose these five, before revealing the winner.


  1. Not sure where the comic award will fall among other comic awards, but the Edinburgh Fringe is the top of the pyramid for performance art and experimental theater.

Comments are closed.