This year’s nominees for the Russ Manning award, given out every year during San Diego Comic-Con since 1982, have been announced. The award recognises outstanding new art talent (although this year has re-nominated two of the artists who were on the 2012 shortlist, so I’m not quite sure how that works). Here’s the list of nominees for 2013:

Rem Broo, artist of The End Times of Bram and Ben (published by Image)

Craig Cermak, artist of Voltron, Year One (published by Dynamite)

Bryan Coyle, artist of Babble (published by Com.x)

Paul Roman Martinez, writer/artist of The Adventures of the 19XX (self-published)

Russell Roeling, artist of Wasteland (published by Oni)


Congratulations to all the nominees! You can find out more via the official site.


  1. Hey Steve,
    I was actually nominated in 2011. The rules state you have two years to win the award from when your first work is published. My first graphic novel came out in 2011 and my second came out in 2012. That’s how I was nominated twice! I wrote, illustrated, and published two 100+ page graphic novels in that time period. And I believe both times I was the only self published person on that list.

  2. Ohhhh! I really did wonder about how the rules worked, because Craig Cermak was nominated last year for the exact same book he’s nominated for this year. Thanks for clarifying!

  3. I was really hoping to see our Finding Gossamyr artist, Sarah Ellerton, who in my opinion is knocking the cover off the ball on the series get nominated. That said congrats to all the well deserving nominees who by all measures are doing fantastic jobs on their respective books.

Comments are closed.